Day 8 & 9 Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 12th 2009
Published: March 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ChristchurchChristchurchChristchurch

Random church... I didn't even notice the guy sleeping on the stairs until I looked at my photos
Once again… another early start, bags on the bus at 6:45. Today we were off to the south island! We spent 4 hours on the interisland ferry and then another four hours on a bus before we finally made it to Christchurch. Along the way we stopped to see a colony of seals along the coast. Many of the roads were only one lane winding through the hills… very scary on a huge bus! Today was the last official day of my tour! I couldn’t believe it was almost over already!
When we arrived in Christchurch some of the girls and I walked into the city center for dinner. Along the way we saw the famous cathedral and gorgeous paths along the river. Our service at dinner was horrible! After sitting down and ordering drinks the waitress tells us that it is going to take them an hour and a half to make our pasta even though the place wasn’t very busy. (There were even open tables) But it was nice to sit visit with them before I left…. Everyone else still had 5 days today in Queenstown and Milford sound before heading home but I had to be at school
Interisland FerryInterisland FerryInterisland Ferry

just before we arrived on the south island
for orientation earlier than expected. I was hoping to meet up with a friend from home that is living about 3 hours south of Christchurch in Dunedin tonight but he didn't end up making it up to Christchurch. Oh well.

After dinner we stopped at a local seven eleven to get ice cream treats. I had the best ice cream bar I have ever had! Ice cream covered in chocolate, then caramel, then more chocolate! Nicola and I decided the NEED to import them to the states before we get back. After dinner a lot of people went out on the town but I stayed back with a few and hung out on the patio.
In the morning as the rest of the group headed off to Queenstown I made my way back to the city center. I wanted to see the inside of the cathedral and possibly find a souvenir or two. I hadn’t really bought much here because so much of it is hand carved, getting it into Australia would be difficult.

I met a lot of really cool people throughout New Zealand and now I have some nice travel options. I plan to visit Nicola in Sydney while she is studying there, and we may travel together later. Then I also plan to visit Gary, Craig, Joel and Zara in Melbourne. Free places to stay!
A few years down the road… when I win the lottery or something, hopefully I will be able to visit Alison in England and Josh in Northern Ireland.
After seeing some of the sights downtown I caught my shuttle to the airport back at the hotel....After my flight was delayed for two hours I said goodbye to New Zealand… and Hello to Australia!



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

Trolley!
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

the Christchurch Cathedral
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

walkway along the river
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

The girls at dinner... huddling the fire inside our table
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

Statue...at night
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

Bridge of Remembrance


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb