Geocaching at the Deer Park


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 24th 2021
Published: March 24th 2021
Edit Blog Post

The sniggering  stagThe sniggering  stagThe sniggering stag

Along with my 4-legged assistant and a young human helper
Covid-19 changed how I do everything, including Geocaching. We weren't allowed to Geocache for a while and that was fine. I followed the rules. But when we were allowed to get out there again I took my 7 year old granddaughter Geocaching as she loves the challenge and is far better at it than I am. We decided to search for a Geocache which is not even showing on my map now. I have no idea why. We had to walk up the path behind the Deer Park in Wanganui and the clues were very clear. Well, clear to others but we struggled. We could work out where the Geocache WASN'T but not where it was.

The stag ambled over and looked at us. We looked at him. He looked at 'something' and made a noise. We looked at him and asked if he could help us as we were lost. I swear he sniggered and looked at 'something' again. 5 minutes later, having picked the wretched Geocache up several times without turning it over and actually finding it, we decided the stag knew more than we did and found it. His sigh of relief was ignored.

We don't see the stag very often but I believe he was impressed (relieved) we had found the Geocache so he followed us down to the lower level and allowed us to feed him treats. He even deigned to have a meaningful conversation with my 4-legged assistant.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb