Strachan's Cave


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui
March 24th 2021
Published: March 24th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Most people who live in Wanganui have never heard of Strachan's Cave. But they are usually quick to visit it once I talk about it.

This cave is listed as an historic place. Basically, it is a privately built refuge for a family that were scared for their safety during the land conflicts of the 1850s-1860s. You can read all about the history here https://www.heritage.org.nz/the-list/details/7308 It is on private land but you are allowed to access it which is wonderful.

So why should you make the effort to visit the cave? Apart from being an historic site, it has two Geocaches there. But most visitors are there to see a part of NZ history and to experience what it must have been like for the family during that time, knowing they may end up hiding there for an indefinite period of time.

You can google how to find the cave which is on Kaukatea Valley Road, Okoia - it really is not far from Wanganui. But you need to make a note of where it is, how far it is from the intersection etc (and take note of everything for the Geocaches) as you will probably lose cellphone coverage once you turn onto this road. Then you need to drive slowly, admire all the peacocks wandering around the paddocks and keep an eye open on the side of the hills for the cave on the right-hand side of the road. I admit I drove right past it. But there is a place you can park and a stile you can climb over in order to climb the hill. Okay, I missed the stile as well and went through a gate and then through a large (LARGE) quantity of mud before attacking the hill. Gumboots are the best footwear here. I only noticed the stile and the easier way to climb the hill once we had finally reached the cave!

This hill is not a hill I would advise anyone like me to attempt to climb. It is steep and the path is narrow (forgive me for using capitals again but it is NARROW for someone who is middle-aged with Lupus and Sjogren's and is clumsy with big feet). I had bravely (foolishly?) taken my very active 5 year old grandson with me and spent the entire trek up and down the hill hanging onto the back of his jacket and praying he wouldn't lose his footing and slide all the way to the bottom with me following close behind. Naturally the 5 year old took it all in his stride (literally) and thought it was great! He loved the cave. We had taken a torch with us and I let him be the one in charge, exploring the different 'rooms.' It was a great adventure for him and HE didn't worry about minor details such as spiders and wetas. Thank goodness there weren't any and I didn't embarrass myself by doing anything stupid such as screaming and running for my life and leaving him behind!

So why should you visit the cave? It is an important part of our history. If you want to visit an historic site that is relevant to the Maori wars (or the Land Wars or whatever you would like to refer to them as) this is one you really need to see. There are no signs, no charge, no hype. It is simply there for you to experience and it my opinion it is well worth the effort. Just hold onto small children! And did I mention the Geocaches?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb