Rafting Over a Waterfall


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
November 24th 2001
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We're in Wellington, New Zealand at the moment, killing time before getting a ferry to the south island tonight.

We've been here about a week and, so far, it’s great. Auckland was a really cool city, and from there we headed to Hamilton to catch up with a friend from Japan, Michelle. Got to experience some good old kiwi culture - a mad beer drinking competition! Believe me, these guys can really gulp it down (Brits pale in comparison!). The best news is that the girls out-drank the boys - hoorah! It's official - girls are better drinkers than boys!!!

Next on the list was the town of Rotorua, famous for its geothermal areas - geysers, mudpools, and that distinct eggy smell! After a quick side-trip to the coastal town of Tauranga to spend a few more days with Michelle, we headed straight back down to Rotorua. Why? To go white-water rafting!

It was my first time, so I left it up to Scott to choose. Of course, we ended up doing the hairiest - mainly grade 4 to 5 rapids including a 7 metre high waterfall - eeeek!

We went over the smaller rapids first, then just before we got to the big waterfall, our guides stopped the raft and picked up a leaf from a silver fern (the symbol of New Zealand as seen on the All Blacks logo). He handed it to me to throw, saying if it landed green side up, we'd negotiate the waterfall and stay upright, but if it landed upside-down (silver side up) we'd flip. Of course, it landed upside-down - oooops!

As we neared the edge of the falls, I took a deep breath and shut my eyes, and the next thing I knew we were going over the edge in a torrent of water. A split second later I felt the raft falling forward and upside-down. Aaaaargh - damn that leaf! We went under the water at the base of the falls for what seemed like ages, before resurfacing safe and sound in the air pocket underneath the upturned boat - phew! It was really scary, but I am glad I did it, and we now have our eyes on another one... Maybe I have the bug.

As far as adventure sports go, white-water rafting - yes!... Skydiving is yes (if my funds can stretch to it!) but bungy jumping - no way in Hell!!! I will leave that one to the crazy kiwis!

Byeeeeeee


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb