Te Papa Museum


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 16th 2013
Published: April 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning all three of us head out together, Mike dropping Caroline off at a course and then me outside the Te Papa museum in Wellington. After a quick wonder, and a hot chocolate stop in a lovely little coffee house to shelter from the chilly weather I head back to the museum for 10am.

David, who came walking with us in Nelson Lakes in also now in Wellington, so we have planned to meet to go round the museum. Like Ana and many others, all of us travellers follow the same route, so you often bump into people again. The museum is amazing, much like the Science Museum in London. The sections include Fire, Land to Sea etc. The whole place is interactive and very informative, spread over 6 floors you could easily spend several days in there!

My favourite bits were the giant squid, the Pacific Beats area where you make your own funky music and…….the hula hooping! Highly surprisingly, I still can’t hula hoop, and it appears neither can David.

After 4 hours in the museum our brains are fit to drop so we just enjoy the city, having an amazing fresh fillet of fish burger from a fishmongers for lunch and dropping in and out of one or two shops.

Caroline very kindly picks me up at 4pm, and this evening I head out for a run – going all the way to the bottom of the hill (nice and easy) and then all the way back up the relentless hill (not so easy). When I finally reach the house, 25 minutes later my calf muscles are screaming and I have to give them a loooong stretch out.

Lovely eve having dinner, talking and then spend rather a long time catching up on my blog…which seems to have slipped a little of late…I apologise!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.8kb