Climb Every Mountain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Had a few drinks of course but had to get an early night after Thursday's skydive, up at 5.30am to go on the Torra, er Torranger, er something crossing, basically up the side of what's known as Mount Doom in Lord of The Rings (I've not seen it yet)

Sadly weather was poor (it is winter here) so could not do the proper walk so 5 of us went up to some nice waterfall then a bit futher to a remote lake up the mountains, was a proper workout which was worst for the 3 that chose to wear trainers (tsk) I of course was properly equiped with hiking shoes, walking trousers, multilayers, waterproofs and an abundance of mars bars, Sir Edmund Hilary, nothing. got somewhat wet etc but it was worth it, esp as mount doom (can't remember the proper maori name) revealed herself albeit breifly.

Went out in the evening to the infamous Mulligans in Taupo, a legend on the backpacker circuit, to me was just like the equally infamous Walkabout in Shepherds Bush.

Saturday was over to River Valley, a lodge miles from anywhere in just the most dramatically stunning gorge (or valley?) Had a roast chicken dinner and then sat in the same seat for 7 hours waiting for the England Game (poor old Peter Crouch) Then went up to my dorm which was basically one big 2 teered bunk bed for 16 people, somehow I felt my individuality drift away.

Today I did a lovely little hillwalk which was like where Julie Andrews does the opening song in the 'Sound of Music'' then hours of busride to Wellington where I am now in a more normal 8 bed dorm, Wellington has very high winds and it's going to keep me awake tonight I fear.

Almost at the South Island!!!

ooh!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb