End of the road for NZ for me


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 5th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We set off for Wellington at 6:00am in the morning and had a pretty easy journey down well it all seemed very easy anyway as I was in the passenger seat and did very little apart from sleep and try to tune in the radio which is very sporadic in this area. After arriving in Wellington we checked into Base which are pretty good hostels and are always clean and tidy so you all know me the tidier and cleaner the better!

We had not been out for a drink since travelling so Siobhan and I went to the basement bar for a few drinks as it was only £1 a beer so at last we find reasonably priced beer in this part of the world whoo hoo.

The next morning Siobhan left pretty early to catch her ferry to Picton on the South Island, so I have to say a big thank you to Siobhan as I would not have got to some of the places I did without her in the short time I did so a big Thank You and Safe Travels.

I was pretty excited about what I was going to do in Wellington yes I know because of LOTR, so I decided today after taking some pictures of the sunrise that I would visit the exhibition for the LOTR which is in its last season apparently with all new exhibits etc.

It was excellent and there is so many props there from the films it is untrue, you cannot take pictures inside due to copyright so I am afraid there are none to show you. The displays of the costumes are excellent as are the weapons and props but the 1:72 scale Minas Tirith model is really the centrepiece. Other amazing models are the life scale Boromir in the canoe he is put in after death the model looks so realistic.

After that I went looking around Wellington and found a book shop so purchased the LOTR books. That evening I went for a look from the top of Mount Victoria and you get a great view of Wellington and the bay.

Today was pretty much the same sort of day I knew I had some time to kill so went back to the museum and watched a talk and show by two stuntmen who have been involved on all Peter Jackson’s films of recent years in NZ. This was very interesting and they had some weapons from the LOTR films.

After this it was the highlight of the day which was going to watch The Two Towers at the Embassy Cinema.

After this I am headed back to Auckland via Hamilton to visit some relatives



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb