From Christchurch to Waitomo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 13th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Easter Break Route

So this is the entire route of your adventures, basically. It looks pretty far now that I can see it all together..pretty tight

Jo Kate and IJo Kate and IJo Kate and I

Start of the trip
Well my two weeks off for Easter Break have come to an end…BUT I get to tell you guys all about it so its like it never stopped!! I should be studying for a mid term on Tuesday or working on a report that is due on Friday but this sounded way more fun.

So Kate, Jo, and I took our car Heather on an adventure to the North Island for our two-week break. The trip started out very rocky. It was raining the more and more we headed north…and our car is very temperamental so she was not to happy to be driving on EXTRAMLY winding roads through Kikoura. Thank goodness Jo was driving by this point because I sure didn’t want to. Luckily we got to Picton safe and sound about 7 hours later and set up our tent on the side of the road. It was the crazy like ‘scenic view’ road so I don’t think we should have camped there, but it wouldn’t be the last time we just set up camp anywhere we could. But it was well worth it, when the alarm went off at 730am we popped our heads out of the tent
Picton SkyPicton SkyPicton Sky

From inside the tent
and where greeted with one of the best sun-rises I have ever seen.
From there we went into the town of Picton and had breakfast, because as usual the ferry was delayed an hour. We then sat in the line-up at the ferry, meet an older couple who had twin boys at Lincoln, ended up knowing one of the guys - New Zealand is so small. It was so nice to go through the Sounds in the sun-shine (last time I did it it was raining and gross), but once we got out on open water it got really rocky. Both Kate and I where having a hard time keeping down breakfast.
We arrived into Wellington about 3 hours late and starving. We headed to our hostel only to find that with out a passport we weren’t going to find anywhere to sleep tonight!! Okay, who brings their passport with them on vacation?! I don’t know, maybe we should have, but none of us did. So we decided to check out some of the sights of Wellington, because EVERYONE says its such a GREAT city, I think that is a load of sheep poop, 2 times I have been to Wellington and both time have been TERRIBLE. We did go to the museum of New Zealand which was pretty tight, but we only had an hour there so I wouldn’t say I got the full experience of the place. We then tried to find food…yeah no. there was nothing open! NOTHING! It was at this point that we realized that it was Good Friday! Hehe opps. Well there was one kebab place open grabed a falafel and hit the road.
We really didn’t know where we were heading (yay for road trips) we just headed North. We ended up in Waitomo…but more on that next time



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kate and I on the ferryKate and I on the ferry
Kate and I on the ferry

Befor it got gross


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb