Wonderful Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sun is out today and the city is lovey. Today I found 'downtown Wellington' and the parliament buildings that look like a beehive. I took the cable car up to top of Botanical Gardens to get view of the city. All very nice. Wellington is a city with artsy, outdoors public art all over. Throughout the weekday you will see as many people on bicycles or jogging by as you do see business people in suits. In fact, I think there are more 'play areas' for adults than there are children in this city. The ship design resting area on top of the overpass (see photo) is case in point. It was interesting to see people in business suits sitting on wooden benches in a semi-pirate ship eating their bagged lunch. On the rocks in a garden near lagon there were students sketching and I wonder if they attend the many art colleges or design universities here.
The city is a nice size, easy to navigate with many visual perks. Friends have told me about some that I missed, so yup, I have to return.
Tomorrow I am taking a train to see Wellington county area along the coast. I'm coming
OrbOrbOrb

Ferns in air
back for another weekend, so I can enjoy this handsome little city. Its a nice introduction to the North Island if you were travelling through New Zealand south to north.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Up in the airUp in the air
Up in the air

What IS it with hanging big ornaments in the air in this country? Centre of town hall square.
BlueBlue
Blue

Calm and sunny today
Street ArtStreet Art
Street Art

Sidewalk art....I like it
BuildingsBuildings
Buildings

Note the 3 exercising. There are joggers here morning, noon and I suspect evening.
Good ShoppingGood Shopping
Good Shopping

I might have to throw up some things I brought from Canada to fit in the new stuff
MorningMorning
Morning

People heading to their offices
City CentreCity Centre
City Centre

Town Hall, Library, Tourist Info centre all here
Hi Oh, Hi Oh, Off to Work We GoHi Oh, Hi Oh, Off to Work We Go
Hi Oh, Hi Oh, Off to Work We Go

And off to school, too. Yippeee! I'm on vacation
Track of Cable CarTrack of Cable Car
Track of Cable Car

It stops several times, once at a university. Cool
Train StationTrain Station
Train Station

I bought ticket to Paraparauna for tomorrow


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb