My first photo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
October 10th 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!
Well I have now officially had my first publicity photo taken!! Yesterday night I attended the NZ premiere of the film "In her shoes" with Cameron Diaz and Toni Collette. It was a fundraising event for WIFT ( Women In Film and Television) Pam White coordinated the entire event and invited me to come. I took my friend John and I had a great time. We saw the film which was pretty good and then after there was a prize giveaway, some promotional giftbags, wine and nibbles and a woman walking around taking pictures for WIFT promotion. She stopped by John and I and took our picture then asked for our names and wrote them down. It was very exciting. I got to meet Pam and she is extremely nice, we have arranged to meet for coffee this week. She was pretty busy during the event because she was in charge, so I didn't really get to talk to her for that long but I think it is a really good thing that I went. The movie is a bit of a chic flick so I recommend it to all you girls. Although I did hear my friend John laughing at a few parts in it. I think he enjoyed it more then he would admit.
I am looking forward to meeting Pam this week, I think it will be very helpful. In other news I have found yet another spider in my room. I think that it may be the same one which I found by accident when I lifted my facewash up in the bathroom and this small spider swung out from the bottle. I didn't do anything to it because I don't like touching spiders. I saw it later by the lightswitch in the bathroom and then the next day I was unpleasantly surprized to see it on the wall above my bed. I had the unsettlingly feeling that it was staring at me, as if it was judging me. I can only hope that this does not mean that it will scurry off to tell it's bretheren that I am a softie who does not kill spiders. The idea of my room becoming known as a "spider hotel" is not exactly appealing to me. My boxes still have yet to arrive but each day I grow more and more hopeful. Hope that you are all doing well, Love, Emily

Advertisement



31st October 2005

Spider Hotel
Emily, your travelblog is so much fun! I can see a new character for your Jeffanox comic strip...Wouldn't Nero have a great time going after the spiders in the hotel, and of course Lemmie would struggle (in his compassionate manner) to save the resident spiders. While you are getting settled in NZ, you really should create some more cartoons. I can't wait to hear about your meeting with Pam White for coffee and film talk. Love, Mom
31st October 2005

Spiders-on the positive side?
Em-the bright side is that spiders keep the other bug population in line....Great to hear from you!!
31st October 2005

Ciao from Ecuador
Glad to hear everything is going well. The spider is making sure you won't kill it, in return it will eat all the mosquitos and other nasties in your room that can hurt you. Trust me, I'm a biologist.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb