Windy Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived safe and sound in Wellington to an abundance of welcome and hospitality from Lisa (whom I met while in Italy), John and his parents and Andrea and hers.

I took in the local sites, visited the national museum, Te Papa and was treated like royalty with home cooked meals and a comfortable place to lay my head at night. John showed me how to live it up, Wellington style, where we visited the Matterhorn (famous bar for the Lord of the Rings crew), and introduced me to his great friends. Andrea showed me how to live it up Wellington 7s style, as I managed to get some tickets to the IRB Wellington 7s Rugby tournament (aka the biggest fancey dress party in the world). It was absolute madness with the costumes and drunken debauchery being a huge distraction from the world stage of some great 7-aside rugby (not by Canada this weekend though). NZ walked away with the title and it was amazing to be in the throw of it, these guys sure are patriotic about their rugby.

I took a quick 2 day side trip up to Gisborne in the north east of the north island, where I had a job interview, and have now accepted a position as a harvest planner. More about this though, when I've been there for a while.

Now its the south island before I start my adventure back in the real working world...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The backs of the Canadian 7s team.The backs of the Canadian 7s team.
The backs of the Canadian 7s team.

Must say, these poor guys looked better in the parade than they did on the field this weekend :-(
Looks okay to meLooks okay to me
Looks okay to me

Anything strange in this photo? Nothing is shocking at the Wellington 7s...


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb