Abel Tasman National Park


Advertisement
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After 3 hours of sleep, I made my way to the ferry and left Wellington for Picton on the south island. I boarded the Stray bus, which was to be my mode of transportation for the next month and we headed for Abel Tasman National Park. From all accounts, this was supposed to be a tour bus that catered more to the more adventurous crowd, but my first crew appeared to be more from the "lets just get drunk but in another country" crowd. My hopes of catching up with someone to do the hike with were crushed as these passengers had hangovers to attend to, so I kept to my plans, but had to do the walk solo. The first day, however, I did a kayak trip up the coast line and had a guide who was from Canada, actually, I'm amazed at how many Canadians I've met, one of whom I actually played rugby with at UBC for a year.

The walk took me over 60 some odd kms because I had to walk parts of it twice due to the drop off with the water taxi, but it was spectacular. The views were out of this world.
Between the islandsBetween the islandsBetween the islands

On the ferry between Wellington and Picton
I hiked through coastal rainforest, beach, and even up to my knickers through an estuary where the tide didn't quite go out all the way (at least I didn't want to wait for it). I became a master at setting up and taking down my tent in record time (still looking for a name for the little blue rocket by the way, any suggestions?). The sand flies are enough to make anyone go insane, but I managed to come out of it alive. New Zealanders know how to camp in style, let me tell you. Even the furthest north campsite, only accessible by walking the trail had a flushing toilet. There were water taps at all the sites, still had to treat the water, but lets be honest. This was luxury compared to what I was expecting. I had a look in the huts, and they are even more spectacular, with matresses, heating and cooking facilities. I don't know if you can call it roughing it, but I'm not one to judge...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Kayaking up the beachKayaking up the beach
Kayaking up the beach

I love kayaking. Note to self, must get one of my own.


12th February 2008

trust you to go straight to the national parks.... freakin canadians, all they wanna do is look at trees!! it looks beautiful, cant wait to get over there! xoxo

Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb