Downtown Backpackers


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
September 29th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

With Fransisco and Mike

Arrival - September 29th



It is a sigh of relief to be back here in Wellington. Traveling around for a while, and working at the Military Base was fun, but it is definitely good to be back here with my friends. I got back a few hours ago. Met up with Richard and Yash, saw some other friends, and made some dinner. I missed cooking so much. When I was traveling around I didn't cook that much. Before, when I was in Wellington, I was cooking all the time, so it was fun to get in the kitchen again. I made us Seared Chicken Thighs with a Mushroom Cream Sauce, Mashed Pumpkin, and Asparagus with Grilled onions. Weird Wild Stuff...

I had to say bye to the friends I made at the Military Base today. I always hate that part, but as I have said before, it's all part of traveling. It was a funny day though. I got the job through a job agency called Hospo. There have been many people that have worked there who have gone through the same agency. The crew at the mess hall has a tradition where the "Temps" (Hospo Staff) get drenched
MeMeMe

With Binx Dennis and Jo
with water on their last day. My last day was Friday, and my boss let me leave early, so I never got wet. So today, when I was at the mess hall saying bye to people, the cooks were going on and on about how I was breaking the tradition and it's a ritual that I don't appreciate enough, etc. etc. So finally, I took off my shirt, cell phone, and wallet and said "Ok let's do it". Very quickly they all stood up and got me with buckets of water. This one kid Phillip came at me with the hose. It was a good time and the people are probably the only aspect of Waiouru that I will miss...

Anyway, I am back at the Downtown Backpackers, and have acquired a job here. I start on Monday cooking in the cafe. They may also have me work behind the bar a bit so that should be fun. This place is so cool; it's really great to finally be back. It's all I've thought about in the last week...

September 30th



Well I am not cooking in the cafe. I kind of assumed that that was what I would be doing when I was communicating with John, but I am working as front of house instead. It's not what I wanted but will be adaptable. I have to learn how to make Coffee and Cappuccinos etc. I am anxious to get paid on Wednesday. I worked so hard in Waiouru, but since I am going through a job agency they hold your checks back 2 weeks instead of the usual 1 week. So it feels like I worked for free because I haven't been paid yet. Wednesday I get my first check which will be a decent chunk so I am anxious for that. Then next week I will get the rest. I worked like 90 hours there in 2 weeks. Stressful, but will be worth it once I get what I have coming to me.

October 5th



I went to my first Rugby game tonight. I went with some of the boys at the hostel. We didn't stay very long because it wasn't very crowded and was a bit "boring". I had fun though because it was my first time and was a bit different than most sports games I have been to. Other than that I have just been hanging around the hostel and working. I like my job as well all of the people that work here, so it's a very fun atmosphere, in Comparison with Waiouru at least. That place was boring.

October 6th



Tonight was interesting. We had a plastic bag party at the hostel. Everyone had plastic bag outfits, and it was really funny. Basically just hung out in the bar with friends and had some good laughs. All around it was a good night. One to remember....

October 13th



I have been having a good time. Have been working at the hostel for a couple weeks now, and things are coming along pretty well. The plastic Bag party last week was really fun. Hopefully I will be able to put up some pictures soon. Working as a bar tender is quite fun. I am not that good at it yet, but am coming along. It's an extremely laid back atmosphere. I am aloud to have a few drinks while I'm working. On my break, I am able to go upstairs and hang out with the boys, play x-box 360 will I am waiting for my break to end.

It's all good fun around this place. It's no wonder I wanted to come back so bad. I am now remembering how great this place is, after working that job in Waiouru for a bit. Working this job makes that job seem very miserable, which it was. Well, it's about 2:50 in the morning now. Today was a day off for me. I basically just hung around the hostel with some friends. Earlier, I went downtown and got some lunch, and went to the internet cafe for a while. Internet is free for me, but there are a few restrictions on what sites we can enter, so sometimes I need to go downtown and get online so I can post pictures, etc.

Two of the Waiouru boys will be coming down to Wellington tomorrow, so it will be nice to see them. You know, it wasn't the people I didn't like, just the job. So it's cool that I have managed to stay cool with some of the guys who are still working there. That's all for now....

October 17th



I just came downstairs from the roof. The roof is a good place to be alone for a bit and gather my thoughts. The last few days have been crazy for me. I guess there is no unobvious way to say that I have been partying a bit. Not "partying", but having some good times with friends in the bar and whatnot. It was a very good idea to spend my last few months in New Zealand at this hostel. It's a whole different vibe that I haven't gotten anywhere else. It's nice.

When I was upstairs on the roof, I was thinking about possible career paths, and there is an idea that I have been thinking about for a while now that I am strongly considering. I think it would be great to go in an educational direction with learning another language. The language in mind is Spanish. It would be sweet to be able to go to South America and go to school for Spanish then travel around a bit. Anyway, it’s just a thought at this point. I don’t really have that much else to write about so I am just going on about nothing...

Halloween



Today was very enjoyable. I woke up and looked in the mirror, and realized that not buying an electric shaver has been setting me back a bit. Richard texted me in early afternoon for a little lunch action, so we went down to the Willis street food court. I have been going there a lot lately. When I was back home, I tried some Chinese food around the country (away from Maine) and realized that Maine Chinese food is fantastic. Well, the Chinese food here is twice as good. There is a Chinese Buffet type thing at the food court. I usually pay$ 7.50 for a medium plate, and have four choices. I usually get Noodles, Sweet n Sour Chicken, and 2x Mixed Vegetables. It is honestly my favorite food now. It's hard to not get it every day. So when we were done eating, I went into a store and bought a shaver, and shaved. I hate razors so it was good.

At 3:30 Boz (Bar Manager) knocked on my door and asked if I would help him decorate the bar for the Halloween party. I was supposed to start at 6 but didn't mind starting early. We hung up cobwebs, black and orange banner things, balloons, etc. The bar started getting busy around 9ish. Man, I had so much fun. I was on fire. Serving drinks, talking with girls, etc. It was a truly fun night at work. And it is so chill in New Zealand; I got to drink while I was working and whatnot. It's insane, I am so happy working here; it's hard to put into words.

At the end of it all Bianca, Tom and I ended up walking to the Shell station for a 2am snack. I didn't knock off work until about 1ish. Then Tom and I hung out in my room for a while and played some Burnout 3. My room is great now. The first couple weeks I worked here I was in a small single room. The room was kind of like a dungeon room. That's what people who visited me in my room said about it ha-ha. Anyway, so now I moved across the hall into a bigger room. My American connection, Jon (from Minnesota) is like a "handyman" so he put me up a huge shelf, and put up a clothes rack which I hang my shirts on. Then I went out and bought a Guns n Roses and Pink Floyd posters to Spoof up the room a bit. I got my Play station and TV as well. It's been so fun living where I work. When I go on break I go up to the 6th floor and either chill with the boys, smoke and play X-Box, or go in my room and chill out, play some play station. Good wholesome, family, quality entertainment. Love it, and am in no hurry to come home. Not yet anyway...



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

BuildingBuilding
Building

Night Shot
Aerial ViewAerial View
Aerial View

Downtown Backpackers is the green building on the left behind the bee hive
GangGang
Gang

Lofa Dennis Harley Tom Donna Binx


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb