Gettin in the Kiwi Groove: Nairobi Trio & Fly My Pretties


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
September 17th 2005
Published: September 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

At the Fly my Pretties Afterparty @ the ParamountAt the Fly my Pretties Afterparty @ the ParamountAt the Fly my Pretties Afterparty @ the Paramount

Jessica, Rachel,Rebecaca, and me ...jess/becks are our friends from Carly harris our fave store in Welly!
NEW ZEALAND HAS NOT FAILED ME!! I am happy to report that I have faith in the Kiwi music scene after last week's musical events.

I think i mentioned this before, NZ has a lack of live music. A typical night out consists of bad cheesy american pop/hip hop/ rock. OR there are those nights one jams out to baaaad techno euro trash music. OR- how bout this nightslubs/bars that advertise "Live DJ's"? what is that about, like there is an alternative- a 'dead dj?' c'mon!

That being said..my quest to find Live real kiwi music has been sucessful. Last week I attended a concert at Old St pauls church in town- its the oldest church in welly- made entirely out of wood even the nailsa re wood! I saw the Nairobi Trio (really a quintet! go figure), which is a jazz band from Auckland, not africa, oce again go figure! The band was great, although the older male musicans were quite odd- eyeing rachel and I the whole concert while they played thei instruments a little too close for comfort. The band consisted on a violin, soprano saxaphone, drum set, string bass, and elec. guitar. They played some quite creative pieces that were pretty innovative and groovy. We were the youngest ppl in the crowd, but I spaked it up. The guys just loved playing, and they were darn good too. Mommy and daddy- i want to get you two a cd, you'd love it!! Although Rachel and I loved the concert, we opted out of having 'drinks' with the band at a nearby winebar- and headed home. weird, theyre like old enough to be our fathers! sickos. haha

Then, the best night ever occured!! On Saturday Rachel and I attened the Fly my pretties show at teh paramount theatre in the city. Now, we have wanted to go to this for a LONG time. SInce we first heard about it! FMP is a collaborative group of NZ musicans who came together for an intimate concert (of about 30 ppl at the Bats theatre in welly) last yr. It was recoreded and sold on CD, and it made such a buzz around the country, that the guy behind the project, baranby weir, was back again to do it this year. They had 4 shows this yr, at the paramount theatre-an old playhouse in the city. We were in the second row center for the finale show. The concert was absolutely thrilling! I was blown away by the diversity represented musically on stage. About 15 musicians came together as a joint effort, and they rocked the house. A beautiful tribute to NZ was the screen behind the stage that played a colalge of images/video clips of the vast landscape of Aoeteoroa (Maori for NZ). It made the who comepltely Kiwi. A perk of the show- the whole thing was recorded for CD and DVD and will be sold before I head back to the States! Rachel and I will for sure be on the DVD - we were right up front!!


After the show, we met up with some girls we know from our favorite store in town and danced at the band's afterpaty at the Paramount. We joined along with them to the GoGo bar, had a drink and danced, then headed to Red Square to dance somemore. The nght was finished off with a chocolate cake at Espressoholic-yummy!!

Cant wait for the CD/DVD to come out so I can bring it home and share it with all of you!! Hope all is well at home- and im praying the hurricanes leave my loved ones alone!! Cheers mates, Shelly





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Fly My pretties StageFly My pretties Stage
Fly My pretties Stage

FLy My Pretties gets its name from the fact that NZ's wildlife is mostly wild exotic birds idigenous to NZ.
Fly My pretties Fly My pretties
Fly My pretties

Age Pryor, and tessa Rayne, and baraby
Fly My pretties Fly My pretties
Fly My pretties

I lvoe this photo because of the maori women in the background screen doing a tradional dance
The man behind the musicThe man behind the music
The man behind the music

baranby weird- at the encore
Fly My pretties Fly My pretties
Fly My pretties

the whole group for credits


5th October 2005

Keep the comments coming!
I love getting comments! And remember, you will only see the comments once I have read and reveiwed them. Sorry the laws of the journal site. I am printing out all my blogs after my trip and making a book. I would love for you to be included in my memories! Leave a message:) -shelly

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb