Life as a Young Professional: teaming up with Te Papa Museum for a day!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
September 22nd 2005
Published: September 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today was by far one the highlights of my time here in Wellington. Like I said previously, I met with the Victoria, the Education Director at NZ's national museum, Te Papa, for a job shadowing day. I feel like this opportunity has allowed me to take full advantage of my resources while in NZ's capital city. Te Papa is a special museum with International recognition- it is HUGE and it has the most interactive exhibits, events, falculty and programs I have ever witnessed at a museum. It is truly an honor to be invited to go behind the scenes for a day.

This amazing experience has solidified my desire and passion to forge ahead in education/career in the field of museums and culture studies. I'll give you a brief run down of my activites today!:

-I woke up bright and early and walked into the city, in full business attire, ready for a 'day on the job'. Before arriving promptly at nine a.m at the museum, I decided to have a quick breakfast at the Dixon St Deli in town. Oh, how professional did i feel, ordering a apple cinnamon muffin and chai tea before, heading off to work. I felt tempted to mutter to the cashier on the way out 'sigh busy day at the office...ya know...'. haha..i didnt.

- I met with Victoria, the director first thing- was given a full on printed out itineray for the day 9-5 every half hour or so I had some where to go, something to see, and someone to meet. It was fantastic!

-Team Meeting- got to sit in and be a part of a team of Education Development at Te papa and hear about their daily plans and routines.

-meeting/tea with Victoria and the curator from the national gallery of Australia-about exhibit planning and exchanging ideas.

-various meetings with various ppl- i.e Communications/Operations Manager of Education, Senior Programme Developer, Bi-Culturalism dept. chair (i.e Maori, Pakeha=european, everything in Te papa is on a perspective ofboth cultures integrating the cultures into one NZ).

-The Sr. Programme developer showed me the finished plans for the newest musuem exhibit set to be rady in April 2006. it has been in the works for years, and it will be running for ten years. it was so amazing to see all the work that goes into making a museum's exhibit. so many ppl involved its awesome.

- Hopped in on a tour of the musuems exhibits, and grounds. learned some new things i didnt pick up before on previous visits!

-My favorite part: I was taken around the Back House of the museum- shown the Archival Collections of the Pacific artifacts and the Maori Artifacts. It was UNREAL how much things the T.P has acquired that the public never sees for lack of space. There was somewhere around 8 rooms of collections-huge warehouses-something like 30,000 pieces in each room! It was like a treasure chest of artifacts. coloroful pacific island traditional dress, mucial instruments, maori taonga, tipuna carvings for wharenui, pieces of wakas (maori canoes), old weaponry etc. It was absolutely incredible. As a visitor to T.P you only get to see 1/6 of what the Museum actually holds. I could have stayed there all day, it was a history lovers playground!

-the maori collections are very spiritually connected to the maori ancestors (tipuna). I was with a group of lovely maori ladies, and it was such a privelage to experience this with them. It is not just a room of asethetically pleasing art peices. To them, these artifacts are pieces of their histories, their tipuna, their whenua (family) their lifelines. Some of them were a little emotional at the end, and I was so thankful to see a side of this culture, and to be welcomed as someone outside the culture.

- my last point, every where i went the ppl were so friendly and warm. eager to answer any questions i had ,and i was always offered a hot cup of tea! I felt so comfortable and at home there. I wish I could just move here and get my degree and work at T.P!

After a long eventful day I grabbed a taxi back to Wai te ata, put my feet up and took a sigh of relief that all my feelings of nervousness this morning were for nothing. It was a spectacular experience I will always remember. I can not wait to further my studies in museums. This experience has just pushed me to keep going with it!

http://www.tepapa.govt.nz/

Until next time mates, shelly

Advertisement



22nd September 2005

wow
How proud I am of you, or little red head curator to be. Love you daddy
22nd September 2005

congrats
What a great opportunity! I can't wait to see what you put together when you work at a museum some day! I love gallery openings and what not. Keep having a wonderful time! Much love my dear!
5th October 2005

keep on leaving messages!
Keep the comments coming! I love getting comments! And remember, you will only see the comments once I have read and reveiwed them. Sorry the laws of the journal site. I am printing out all my blogs after my trip and making a book. I would love for you to be included in my memories! Leave a message:) -shelly
7th October 2005

Check it out
Be sure you check out the U of Toronto Museology program offered at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto - my Mum was the assistant to the Director for years so I can testify to the quality of the program -- considered one of the best anywhere!! I have also had the privilege of going behind the scenes -- such a gift to experience!! Love ya!!
20th November 2005

I've come to correct your grammar,because..well, that's just what I do. "ordering a apple" = ordering AN apple. I can just picture you saying that "busy day at work" thing. Hah. You should've done it. Oh well. : )

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb