Birfday Dinner!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sleep in 😊

Sarah and Justin surprised me with a bone and paua (abalone) necklace carved into a protective elemental spirit (Te Manuanui?). So cool! I will wear it always 😊

We went to birfday brunch at this lifesaving station in Lyall Bay that has a very Santa Cruz cafe on the top floor. the name started with an M. I am sure it is in Lonely Planet somewhere. We had great views of the bay (no surfing Hobbits today) and I munched yummer scrambled tofu with stir fried vegetables. Very neat fresh Cali cuisine. Four stars.

After stopping to see Justin's old flatmate and her son- I finally got to see wedding pictures en masse- we went to see Ocean's 13. It was in the same vein as the first two, just as amusing. I love the star power- and Eddie Izzard was in it too! But Scott Caan is still my fave.

Then we went shopping for groceries for a mellow birfday dinner that night. Sarah made pasta bolognese with mince, capsicums, and mushrooms. (Hamburger and peppers for the Americans😊 Justin made salad and marinated chicken wings. I defrosted a caramel and hazelnut Sarah Lee 'cheesecake.' It was all fabulous! Frank, Brahnie, and Carina stopped by and we watched Balls of Steel. And Rove. NZ tv is so much better than US, even though they show alot of UK, US, and Oz shows. It is a fun mix of crashness and self-critical laughs. My magic screwdriver glass kept filling itself until the magic hour of 1 am 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb