Car/B-ball/Ranfurly Shield


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
August 12th 2005
Published: August 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

CarCarCar

This is the car I test drove. 1996 Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4 Type S. Pretty sweet, but had about 100,000 miles unfortunately.
I woke up today, but on my basketball gear, and walked a few blocks to meet a man who was selling his car to check it out. He asked if I wanted to drive, I told him I had never driven a car in NZ before. He drove into the suburbs and I took the car for a spin. It was nice, I liked everything except it had about 100,000 miles and was not too efficient on fuel.
After that I hiked up to campus for the 3 on 3 basketball tournament. Andy, Chang, and I were confident and thought we would win the tournament. We won the first game 20-4 without trying hard. The competition was not too fierce except for a couple teams were alright. The format was to play for 12 minutes instead of to a certain amount of points, weird, but fine. In our second game we played a team of big strong Maoris. It was not easy. We were tied 12-12 with about a minute left. I made a shot, 14-12. Time was called and the Maori scorekeeper said the game was tied 14-14 because his friends were on the loosing team. This got
Ranfurly ShieldRanfurly ShieldRanfurly Shield

Rules of the competition
us aggrivated because we really won. Then we were playing other games and in two games we were winning, the ref said that there was 10 seconds left, so we dribbled out the clock for almost a minute. The other team got the ball and then the ref said that they can have a shot, so they chuck up a 3, it goes in, and we loose, it was pathetic.
That night was the last day of school and many of the Kiwis planned on celebrating. About 10 guys decided to do this thing called the 'Ranfurly Shield' Ranfurly is a type of cheap beer. The winner of the game was the first to finish 20 ranfurlys without spewing. Ranfurly cans are also much larger, so 20 cans are really 28 regular sized beers. Chris was the winner, he finished in about 10 hours, and never chundered. I think three others finished, the rest threw up at some point. That night was alot of fun. Andy and I started 2-0 against Bluff and Dan but they won three straight to win the Blendisoe cup, haha. It was alright, I went 11-3 that night. Also, in the basketball tournament Chang got injured, so we called Kam, and luckily he was available and came to the rec and played for us.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb