Next stop: Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
January 26th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

26th January:

Back on the bus with my friends and travelling to Wellington. I only stopped here for one night so i could catch my ferry in the morning.

'Down-Town Backpackers' was the hostel i stayed in. I was quite shocked when i arrived to my dorm and it slept 20 people!!! I flet like Annie. Perviously the most i had to share with was 10 and i thought that was a lot.

Anyway, i decided to have a wonder around the town. I was not too keen on Wellington as it was hugh and i had previously been to some really nice little villages.

I met up with Aisling and we had Tapas and cocktails, then i got a taxi back to the '20 person' dorm hostel by a taxi man who didn't speak english and really didn't know where he was going. Luckily i had a map so i tried my hardest to explain and we got there in the end.

27th January:

(am) Got up early so i could catch the ferry across to Picton in the south island.
Me and Aisling watched 'Happy Feet' on the boat which took up most of the travelling time. It was so cute and i really enjoyed it, apart from the screaming kids. I think we were the only grown-ups in the cinema.

We arrived in Picton to jump on the bus (for me it was the last time for a while) and travelled on to Nelson.

(pm) Arrived early evening into Nelson and drove past the Jewellers that made the ring for 'The Lord of the Rings'. We also went passed the centre of New Zealand (i am going to take Rob there and will get some pics). I booked into a hostel for that night as i could not get hold of my friend i was going to be staying with. The hostel, 'Paridiso Backpackers', was the nicest hostel i had stayed in. It had a swimming pool, hot tub, a nice dorm that only slept 8 people, and they gave you FREE soup and breakfast (backpackers love free things so i was more than happy)

I finally got hold of Corinne (my friend i was going to be staying with) and she was to pick me up in the morning...

Love Emx


Advertisement



16th February 2007

Hi
Hi em, it all sounds very action packed. Well done on Rock and ropes...that Giant swing is terrifying....puts Go ape in its place dont you think?! Enjoy the South Island, its even more beautiful than the North I reckon. Take care, Chris x
17th February 2007

Yo Bird!!!
Hello Em, looks like your having a fantastic time, wish I was there. Just going on a night out now, won't be the same without your crazy dancing!!! Carry on having a great time!! Enjoy it whilst you can x take care, H x
23rd March 2007

UPDATE
Hey Chick, When you going to update this thing so people stop asking me what you have been up to?? K xxxx

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb