Blogging in NZ - Travelling down south


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
January 25th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

25th January:

Hello All...

Well back on the 'Magic Bus' now and off to a place called Taupo. Before going to our hostels we stopped off at a place called 'Rock 'n' Ropes'. It was like an adventure course (similar to Go Ape) but alot more scary.
I decided to give it a go having already been to Go Ape. I chose to do 'The Swing'!!! Maybe i shouldn't have! I had to climb up a pole (with a harness on) to the top where there was a platform. It was about 25 metres high!!! The instructor then clipped me to the piece of rope hanging from the beams and then told me to just 'jump'. Aaaaahhhhhhh!
First you free-falled for a couple of seconds and then you swang. I nearly pooped myself (no really, but it was the scaryest thing i have ever done). Apparently, it was worse than a bungee!?!?! but i am not brave enough to find out (there's no way i am going to do a bungee!)

We then travelled on to the 'Huka Falls'. Me and Aisling decided to havea go on the 'Huka Jet'. It was a speed boat that took you up the river while doing about 150 miles an hour (not sure how fast it went really, but it felt about that). It dogged in and out of trees/rocks and did 360 degree spins. I got soaked!! We then reached the end of the river where there was a hugh waterfall - The Huka Falls. The driver took us up real close and then span 360 degrees and i got soaked again!

We then carried on with our journey and headed to the bungee jumping. As i said before i did not have a go (it was over a river and 80 meters high. 'The Swing' had put me off and that was only 25 meters)

I watched as brave people trew themselves off. I was nearly sick just watching them!

Then we headed for the hostels and off to bed for another early start to Wellington.

Em x


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb