Friday the 13th in Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington Region
December 13th 2013
Published: December 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have moved on to my second location, Wellington (or Plimmerton to be exact) and things are still going well. Things are set up really nicely for tourists and I have encountered a lot of helpful people. The weather has been quite good - low 20s most days and not too much rain. One of the advantages of summer I suppose.

Before I left, I had some concerns about the long flight here and how boring it would be. Turns out I should have been just as concerned about my 12 hour bus ride yesterday. At least there are movies and bathrooms on planes. I was definitely glad when the ride was over, but it did allow me to see many different landscapes. We started with the volcanic cones of Auckland, then grassy farm fields, then higher hills and rocks, then Lake Taupo (which is huge ), then a desert-like landscape with the occasional snow capped mountain, then ocean views, and then the ride was almost over so I stopped paying attention.

My hostel here is in a small town near the city and it is one of the best I've ever been at. This is mainly because my room is on the second floor with two walls of windows overlooking the ocean. Other plusses are the best fish and chips in the area (although I learned quickly not to carry them with me on the coastal walkway. There was literally a flock of seagulls by my head) and the fact that the sun seems to shine more here than in the city. I feel very fortunate to be staying here until Monday.

Today's pictures are of the view from my room and this morning in Wellington.

Advertisement



13th December 2013

Hello from snowy cold Waterloo
You certainly have a great view from your window. We can see lots of Christmas lights and snow when we look out and have just heard a snow plow passing by.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb