On to the North


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Pancake RocksPancake RocksPancake Rocks

Limestone formations a skip up the road from Te Nikau Retreat. What horrid scenery!
Dearest friends and family,

Hello from Napier, Art Deco capital of the world!! I will mercifully spare you accounts of my travel because nothing really uncomfortable has happened yet, and we all know that stories about nasty occurences make for better entertainment.
I have, however, left Te Nikau retreat. :-( The weather cleared up beautifully last week and it was how I imagined Hawaii would be like. I should have some awesome pictures in a bit, once the English gal Claire (who hates beetroots, sushi, hummus, spicy stuff, couscous, etc, thus giving merit to the stereotype that Brits -- hi, Roger -- don't like anything remotely exotic and tend to baby their palates with the usual grey-colored cuisine their ancestors have ground into their culture) e-mails me the photos she took with her camera. If you could even follow that digression.
So, after sentimental farewells to the gals and my comfy routine at Te Nikau, I took the three hour ferry ride to the north island. Landing in Wellington, the second biggest city in New Zealand after Auckland, was a bit of a shock for me. People, movement, stores. You know, urban life. I see it being very, very easy to be seduced into an existence of limited human exposure to the fast pace of modern life. Maybe I'm being overly romantic. After all, I do like my hot water from the tap and flushing toilets. Plus, such an existence seems boring and unchallenging.
Plans for the next week or so include the Taupo-Rotorua region which are characterized by its colorful thermal geological activity and awesome hikes. My goal is to sucker some poor bloke into being my hiking partner on the 5-day Tongariro crossing through belching hot pools and stunning scenery. Until then, maybe something wretched will happen to me and I'll turn it into yet another romantic it-was-meant-to-happen lesson of life.
Cheers and fears!
Diana


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fern shootsFern shoots
Fern shoots

Sweet tender embryo-like stalks, unfurling from their warm cinnamon bun lives to be exposed to a cold, cruel world
Random sheep while hikingRandom sheep while hiking
Random sheep while hiking

It's no exaggeration. These wooly creatures really are all over the place. 40,000 sheep per each of New Zealand's 4 million human souls
Ha ha!Ha ha!
Ha ha!

This is just funny.
Queen Charlotte SoundQueen Charlotte Sound
Queen Charlotte Sound

So beautiful it's disgusting.
Weird foliageWeird foliage
Weird foliage

This is a FERN, not a palm tree! Scary.
Fungus among usFungus among us
Fungus among us

Cute, aren't they?


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb