Whanganui Heritage Month 2019


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui
July 28th 2019
Published: July 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

https://www.facebook.com/whanganuiheritagemonth4500/

I love my city. Only Whanganui could have six weeks in a month. The number of activities and events planned for this year's Heritage Month meant the month sort of became extended, running from 2 August to 15 September.

This year there is an amazing line-up of events. I grabbed one of their leaflets and decided to highlight the ones I absolutely have to attend. It would have been quicker to highlight the ones I wouldn't be attending! The highlights for me include the Airport Control Tour Restoration Group's Runway Mile event, the self-guided tour of stained glass windows and the Tramways Weekend.

My advice is to check out the FB page (the link is at the top of this blog) and make a plan. If you have kids, the free rides on the tram ($2 for adults) would be a great place to start (Saturday 24 August 9-4, Sunday 25 August 11-3). If you can make it on the Saturday morning, check out the markets right next door (the track actually runs through the markets).

As well as the planned events, there are plenty of other things to do such as visiting the museum which is free. Other attractions can be found on my other blogs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb