Tongariro Alpine Crossing


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I wasn't kidding when I said I would do it again! Photos aside I really wanted to summit the volcano. Rose early and got dropped at the start of the crossing, Caro went to the end and we will meet in the middle. I raced up the first part, and started the climb to the top. It took just over an hour and a half, roughly as the sign said, and the view was amazing, you could see all around the national park and almost to the coast! Sat on my bum and slid back down the side of the mountain in about 20mins! Met Caro at Blue Lake and headed back to the car in the baking heat, lots of smoke coming out the craters and a hut half way back that had been destroyed by rocks from the crater. Set off to stay the night at Wades Landing Lodge before the river trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb