Skydiving over Lake Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a very strange day... I decided to launch myself out of a perfectly healthy aircraft.
For some reason I really wanted to Skydive and I was told that it's a much better freefall from 15000 ft. So off I went, attached to Benny the Tandom-master who has done 5000 jumps out of a plane so I felt quite sure about putting my life in his hands!
I thought the jumping process would be a lot slower eg-they would ask you if you were still happy to jump etc. But no! We shuffled to the door and then out we popped ... over the Lake.

Once I stopped screaming I was able to take in the views - beautiful mountains and landscape in the sunshine. Meanwhile Benny and Joel the camera man were doing very strange hand actions to pass the time-I later found out that this was a game of rock, paper and scissors!
My favourite part was when the parachute went up and we slowly descended to the ground. Somehow everyone else from my plane landed very gracefully on their bums, but i fell flat on my face. Oooops! Quite a funny end to the DVD though. DVD was of course necessary to prove my craziness to you all when I get back. I'll try and upload the pics in a sec, but we're in a cafe and the 'photo uploading police' are behind me.

Would I do it again?

Maybe.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Free fallingFree falling
Free falling

After I stopped screaming i couldn't stop smiling!


4th April 2007

Crazy lady!!!
Great pics Holls - I suppose if you have got to throw yourself out of a plane being attached to a rugged looking blonde haired lovely makes it all the more bearable!!! So when's the bungy jump booked in for??!?
4th April 2007

OH MY GOD!!
Ah hol im so proud of you well done!!! im so glad you did it, when i did one it was the most amazing experience ever!! am soooo jealous would love to do it again!! hope u are keeping well, am thinking of u lots and sat waiting for ur next travel updates!! miss you, look after each other! mwah xxx.
4th April 2007

Lollllllyyyypppppoooopppp
Hey cousina... wow that looks awesome, check you out in the clouds with some hot man strapped to your back, some might say crazy, but i would def say whoop whoop hjahahaha xxxxxx falling on your face in true Early styleee, keep up the good work, we expect nothing less heehee xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx lots of love xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx miss you and thinking about you all the time xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4th April 2007

Haha- those photo's are wicked! Can't believe you dared to do it- that's amazing! Must have been so exciting/scary! Once again: wow! I'm so jealous! X
4th April 2007

All i can say is oh my god!!! you lucky (very brave) lady! how much fun does that look!! can't wait to see the dvd!! xxxxxxx
4th April 2007

wow
thats looks so amazing holly, would love to be strapped to that man with you! (or may be that would be dangerous so may be just me and the man instead...) hehe don't need to say it but have fun!! love claire xxxx p.s this travel blog thing is really cool!!
5th April 2007

OH MY GOD
Wow!!! Thats crazy shit... Cant wait to see you you tell me when you want to catch up and Ill be there.... oh its anzac day in australia on the 25th of april so we will have to have a drink for the vets.... alicia
18th April 2007

Good Work!
Tell me really - did you like it??!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb