Rainbow Springs


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
September 3rd 2016
Published: September 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

http:// http://www.rainbowsprings.co.nz/

As a child, I remember visiting Rainbow Springs and Fairy Springs (now merged into one). I have been back many times over the years, but today was the first time I had visited for several years. I had my 2 young grandchildren with me and had managed to get a special deal online which was just as well as I was still shocked at the entry fee. Even with a special deal I still had to pay $30 for myself and $20 for my 3 year old granddaughter, with my 1 year old grandson getting in for free. I felt even worse when I bought some small bags of food for the fish - they were $2.50 per bag. Did I think the cost was worth it? No. Okay, for overseas tourists, it is probably a great place to visit as they can see kiwi and tuatara. For NZers, the cost is just too high and that is a shame.



Toilets: good, clean facilities just outside the main entrance plus more near the kiwi display.

Playground: a nice playground for the kids.

Prams: the paths are very good but not flat. Hang on to your toddlers or else they will end up head first in with the fish.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Kea Kea
Kea

The only alpine parrot in the world. Curious, the most intelligent parrot on the planet, destructive!


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb