Day 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
August 16th 2014
Published: August 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We woke to the most amazing view, unfortunately we had to get going quickly as we had to deliver the tents into town. It was such a glorious day it was worth it though as we arrived at the Gondola before it got busy. Theo took off immediately and Nate was quite happy to do his first solo run. Finn loved riding along and was amazingly co-operative.

The twins were quite content to crawl around in the sun and charm the tourists so I got to relax a bit.

My turn for a run while Steve gave the twins an early lunch. I got a nice smooth cart so had a lovely run down. My second run we did the intermediate track but Nate wanted to do the Scenic track by himself. I waited for him at the bottom, and he and Theo did the chairlift by themselves. I have always been terrified of this chairlift but this time it was just a lovely relaxing ride.

The twins began to get ratty, I got them some frozen fresh berry yoghurt and Steve and the boys managed to fit in one more ride.

We headed off to the lakeside to have some lunch and then the big boys and I went for a walk around the mud pools and Sulpher Bay while the twins had a wee nap in the car.

I'm so looking forward to our trip with the big boys, it was such fun discussing the mud and the sulphur, things the younger ones won't stay still for.

We decided to head out to Waikite hot pools, we love it out there.

Back to Rotorua for a classic Cobb & Co dinner, very reminiscent of my childhood and surprisingly not a bad meal.

All kids in bed by 9pm and a lovely day had by all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Skyline RotoruaSkyline Rotorua
Skyline Rotorua

Evan exploring
ChairliftChairlift
Chairlift

Skyline luge, after Finn's first run


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb