Day # 45


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
July 23rd 2015
Published: July 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Awoke to thick fog across the Hokianga Harbour. It did start to break up but another lot rolled in and you could not see across the harbour at all, this made for a very earie morning. Packed up and off to South Head to do the Arai te Uru Heritage Walkway. Had coffee at the top of lookout carpark and waited for the fog to lift. This is another must do if you are this way. Incredible views North over the giant sand hills on the Northern shore, and East along the inland waterway of the Hokianga Harbour. Some great photo opportunities across the wild bar of the Hokianga Harbour entrance. A slight detour took us down to a small bay. Time for Lance to practice his throwing skills. It’s a boy thing…..you throw rocks and hit big rocks in the water (cool). Once I thought he was sufficiently tired we headed to nearest store for an ice-cream treat. Sat on the beach at Omapere for a few hours enjoying the views and the warm sun. Next on the list had to be Fish & Chips overlooking the Opononi Wharf.

Our final stop for the day is Koutu Mongeroa. A private property on a small peninsula looking over the Hokianga Harbour and across to Koutu Boulders. The caretaker here is Lance, now how handy is that I shouldn’t forget his name. I opted to read my book in the sun while Lance set off on his bike in search of the Koutu Boulders. He rung me when he got there exclaiming can you see me…..can you see me…….I’m waving…….I’m standing on a rock! (OMG my 5 year old!). Yes I could see him and I even took a photo of the Boulders from where I was standing lol. Only 3 km bike ride away according to Lances GPS. That’s 6kms of biking I have saved for another day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb