Day 4 - Matauri Bay to Kawakawa


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
November 14th 2010
Published: November 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Matauri BayMatauri BayMatauri Bay

Didn't want to descend this hill to come back up the next morning...but no choice!
A fresh morning, clear blue sky, and sleep repaired muscles. Time for a quick dip in the ocean, and then back to the pain train. Benjamin "bailer" wanted to find a truck going up so we could have them drop us at the top. I wasn't hearing any of that cheater talk. Anyway, nothing like wearing yourself out in the first 20 minutes of a 65 km ride.

The Matauri Bay hill is nasty, but the views from the top are stunning. As we rode out to highway 10 we left the quiet country roads behind us again. It was back to the irritating noise of the main road, and some inconsiderate drivers. I was relishing the thought of reaching Waipapa for some food in civilisation as my last two meals had been marmite on toast. Lunch was pretty good, a flat white and vege pie.

With 33 more kms to tackle until Kawakawa, it was hard convincing myself to ride again. My tyres always seemed to feel so flat in the later parts of the ride. And adding to injury, a blasted head wind had arisen. But I summoned the strength as I thought back to my ambitious days of doing 100 km rides, realising that I could probably cruise this measly 33 km. And there you go, 5 minutes after arriving in Kawakawa I forgot completely about the pain train.

Advertisement



14th November 2010

Nice blog
Nice one Belinda, some great references in there - good to look back at!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb