Coldness and Champagne


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Napier
December 11th 2006
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I didn't get a welcome home this time at passport control in Auckland, but was still lovely to be back! Was not so lovely to spend 6 hourrs at Auckland domestic airport, which was like an oversize shed. (Ok slight exaggeration!) But sat pretending to use one of those back massage chairs that you pay for and that got me through! My Uncle and Mum picked me up from Napier Airport where the baggage claim was a trailor! Stayed with Mum at my Aunty and Uncle's house in Napier. Was so nice to have some proper food and be in a nice family home again! The day after I got there was my Uncle's 60th birthday celebrations (& Mum's on the same day) and family from NZ, Oz, England and USA was there, was so nice to have so much family all together as I dont think its going to happen again in the near future. Everyone was getting drunk on champagne and we had a really nice meal in a old English style mansion restaurant (think thats the best way to describe it!). Was so nice to be with all my cousins! I've never seen so many camera flashes
Te Mata PeakTe Mata PeakTe Mata Peak

View from the top, overlooking Hawkes Bay.
going off!

After recovering from that the next day we had a lovely lunch all together which my Aunty prepared for us at her home. After spending a couple of days together Mum left to go to Melbourne and I went to stay with my other Aunty and Uncle and had a lovely day out in the country with my Aunty, taking tea the English way! Then I went to stay with my cousin and her family. Cue getting woken up with dolls being thrown around at 5.30am with cries of "Are you awake Sally?!" its ok they're not my age, 6 and 4 (I think) sorry Fil if I got that wrong! Had a fab time hanging out with them and my two couisins Fil and Steve who was over from USA. Chilled out in the hot pools and spent day on the very scenic Waimarama beach.

Drove back up to Auckland with Steve in hire car the size of a bus before flying back to Sydney. It had been lovely to go back to NZ and I still have the opinion that it is one of the most beautiful countries I have visited, but a little
View from where I stayed!View from where I stayed!View from where I stayed!

View from my Uncle's house in Napier, not bad eh!
quiet for me and I was ready to get back to Sydney.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The beach at WaimaramaThe beach at Waimarama
The beach at Waimarama

It was the weekend and really hot and this is how busy the beach was - love it!
All the brothers and sistersAll the brothers and sisters
All the brothers and sisters

My Uncle Bruce, Mum, Aunty Margaret and Uncle Eric
All the girlsAll the girls
All the girls

My cousin Filipa, Aunty Nola, cousin Francene, Aunty Margaret, Mum and me
All the cousinsAll the cousins
All the cousins

Bruce, Francene, Filipa, Me and Steve
Jessica and MelissaJessica and Melissa
Jessica and Melissa

I want a trampoline!


5th January 2007

happy new year and WOW !!
Sally,you should write a travel mag or guide ! the pics are amazing and really give one a feel for the places great for us oldies trapped in mortgage land..it inspires me mind and chuckles my dreams to read of your escapades and see these sites..my time will come dear :) you look so happy and well great to see .Heres wishing you nothing but happiness and fun for 2007 love and thoughts..jan :)

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb