Christmas Hats & Sunglasses


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Forbes
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I flew back to Sydney a day before Mum and checked into Sydney Central YHA which was amazing, Mum and I had a double room which was a lot better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in! Anyway had one night out with my friend Sandra before picking Mum up from the airport the next day. That day as it was nice we went down to Bondi and did the lovely beach walk from Bondi too Tamarama beach (where a lot of my photos are from) before having a mammoth all you can eat BBQ and seafood dinner at a restaurant overlooking the beach. Was really nice to have Mum in Sydney and show her around. The next day was a full day sightseeing. We started off at the Sydney Fish Market as I hadnt been there before but it was a little disappointing, then went on to Darling Harbour and the Chinese Garden of Friendship a really lovely haven of calm in the hectic city. After some Chinese Tea, we had a wander around Darling Harbour then walked through Chinatown and bought lunch which we ennjoyed overlooking the Opera House (yes more pics Jaz!) and the bridge. We then walked round to the botanic gardens then up to the Queen Victoria Building, a massively impressive old building in the heart of Sydney which houses some very nice (read expensive!) shops where we had afternoon tea! Finsihing off the day that seemed to revolve around tea and food, we had a fabulous dinner in the old area of Sydney, The Rocks, looking out to the harbour. I dont think Mum had done that much sightseeing in a while!

The next day we flew (tiny plane) inland to a place called Forbes to see some of Mum's friends that live on a farm. The airport was tiny, like a small bus station! Had a very chilled out couple of days there as basically there was nothing else to do with sit on the veranda and drink homemade grapefruit juice and read. Tough, very tough and very enjoyable. Thats where most of the photos here are from. It was good to see some of the "real" Australia and not just the cities. We flew back to Sydney and had one night then flew again up to Brisbane, I worked out I had been at Sydney airport every day for the last
Chinese Garden of Friendship - SydneyChinese Garden of Friendship - SydneyChinese Garden of Friendship - Sydney

Its hard to believe this is in the middle of the city!
week bar one, it was becoming my second home.

Brisbane was very chilled also, as Mum had been on the go for the last 5 weeks seeing people. Weather was hot for a few days and managed to fit on some sunbathing on the fake beach in Brisbane's Southbank. Then it rained, and rained.....and rained! Chrsitmas day was clear but really humid and then after that it was wet, may as well have been in England!! Hadnt really felt at all Christmassy at all until Xmas day, as the weather was hot, I wasnt at the pub on Christmas Eve and I was away from home. But we had a lovely day, my Aunty cooked so much food, so at least one thing was the same....was ab stuffed by the end of the day! But the weirdest thing...Christmas hats from cracker worn with sunglasses, there was just something not right about it!

Had a couple more days in Brisbane before I flew back top Sydney and Mum flew home via Singapore. Back in Sydney I stayed with my frieind Sandra for a while, there was 7/8 of us depending who was there staying in a 2 bedroom apartment so was hectic! Spent the first few days looking for somewhere to live which became very tiresome and boring, but in the end managed to find somewhere 5 mins from the beach in Bondi, with a lovely girl called Eva from Czech Republic. I think I have emailed all of you my new address.

Had a great NYE but will put that and photos of the fireworks in my next blog entry






Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Christmas lights in Brisbane 2Christmas lights in Brisbane 2
Christmas lights in Brisbane 2

This street won "best street" for their lights, it was insane, like being at Disney or something!


5th January 2007

Bimbini
this place looks wonderful,I shall add it to my list of to go places..love the footprints Sal,dont spoil it by telling me they are yours :)) xx jan
5th January 2007

happy times
Hello Sally Love your new photos

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb