The Mount


Advertisement
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The MountThe MountThe Mount

The Mount in all its mountainous glory.
After leaving Auckland, I made my way to the Mount where opportunity was supposed to await, but low and behold, it was a tiny city with a "downtown" which I could walk in 5 minutes, all in all not my cup of tea. As I was also feeling very sick (I have a slight cold but at the time I had a fever and thought I was dying, I am a wimp I know), so I decided to move to Tauranga which is slightly bigger. Since then I have realized that the Mount is gorgeous, with a large hill (also known as Mount Maunganui, the "mountain" after which the town is named), beautiful beaches (which I will eventually learn to surf on), and most importantly the Mount hot pools, which is where I found a job. Lifeguarding is very different in New Zealand than it is in Canada for one thing they get paid minimum wage and for another they are on for 8 hour shifts with two fifteen minute breaks, and one half-hour, in which they may sit (they have to stand for the rest of the time). The hot pools are also outside and open untill 10:30, both of
The CoastThe CoastThe Coast

The reason the Bay of Plenty is called the Bay of Plenty.
which would not be a big deal but for the fact that it gets cold at night and the last bus to Tauragnga runs at 5. I have get to figure out how this job is going to work but will keep readers posted on its progress.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

BoatsBoats
Boats

Its just a pretty picture of boats, does it really need a caption?
The CityThe City
The City

A picture of part of the city.
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Hopefully I will be surfing here shortly :)
SheepSheep
Sheep

Ok Graham I know they are not cows, but they are still cool.
RocksRocks
Rocks

Some cool rocks that I climed and Pauline attempted to climb (in her flip flops and skirt) :)
Me and Pauline...Me and Pauline...
Me and Pauline...

...at the Mount on a very sunny day, still very pale, it needs to get warmer here so I can tan!


22nd October 2006

Sheep!
Hahaha you took a picture of sheep! It looks quite erotic.
23rd October 2006

O-town
yo dood, don't go back to t-dot it is lame-dot. COME BACK TO O-TOWN AND PARTY IT UP WITH ME, D-UNIT AND EM-SLICE! It'll be chill, and then all your torontonian(how lame is that? Who in their right mind would want to be called a torontonian?) friends can go to hell! w00t. ENJOY YOUR TRIP, BIATCH
25th October 2006

i miss you!!!
your mom and brother came over for dinner and i was lonely and i missed you lots (tear) in amrch im taking a trip to toronto (not as great as new zealand but w/e) but yeah!!! i better see you while im there!! ahha love you ltos!!1 im still jealous!! adn your mom wants to know where your living lol!!! byee!!! -brownie!
30th October 2006

I can't see any pictures!!!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb