New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
December 4th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would calm down the partying when I hit Aukland. I was so wrong. I met a few locals in a bar within an hour and they gave me a big tour round the bars and clubs which they had on offer. A couple of days in Aukland was enough for me and I jumped on the first bus out of there and headed North.

Started in the Bay of Islands (Pahia) where I watched Wales getting smashed by the All blacks at 5.30am. A load of Llannelli boys turned up and we had a ball with the local Mauris. They fucking love their rugby out here to another passion level. It's awesome! I was pretty smashed by 2.30pm and then we took a boat trip in the afternoon around the 144 or so islands. Can't remember too many of them but I had a good time. What I do remember though was trying to swim the dolphines but the buggers swam away. I had an awesome experience with dolphines in South Africa a few years back and it would have been nice if I could have got close to these guys again. However, when they are on the move they don't stop for a belly rub or surf.

Went further North to Cape Rianga the next day (The Northernest tip) and did some sand sledging too. It rained so it was a lot faster than normal. I loved it and got a good video. Hopefully I should get it on this site soon.

Then went top Whangerei Falls for a day and I used it as a base to go diving at Poor Knights islands. Also in the top 5 dive sites in the world. Awesome diving but bloody freezing and the visibility is only 10m max this time of year due to plankton.

After heading back to Aukland I met up with a Swiss girl called Tatjana and a Canadian called Laura. We decided to hire a powerful 3.5l petrol stationwagon and do the rest of the North island together.

Started in Raglan, which has the best left hander surf break in the world. I hope to come back here to surf for a couple of weeks at the end of travelling. Great place, great people and great atmosphere. We went the next day to Waitoma caves to do some caving but we didn't like the vibe when we got there so we decided to head on tp Rotorua. Only problem was that we run out of fuel half way as there were no filling stations for over 150k's with no warning. We found a guesthouse in this inbred village and I was happy to leave at first light as I never thought we were coming out of that place alive.

Rotorua has a hell of a lot of geothermic activity and smells of shit (sulphur). Haven't been to the pools yet but went sledging and white water rafting down a grade 5 river including a 7m waterfall drop. Pretty cool and should get the photos on here soon.

Off Zorbing tomorrow (STanding inside a ball and rolling down a hill) which is very different and then on to Taupo in couple of days via the volcanic activity of Wai Taupo


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Poor Knights DivingPoor Knights Diving
Poor Knights Diving

Fuck me it was cold!
Gorgeous Specimens!Gorgeous Specimens!
Gorgeous Specimens!

These 2 were an easy catch!
Cape ReingaCape Reinga
Cape Reinga

The Northernest Point of NZ
7m waterfall drop7m waterfall drop
7m waterfall drop

I'm at front right under water!
Sledging Sledging
Sledging

Fuck you!
SurfingSurfing
Surfing

Come on!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb