Happy New Year!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post


Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a decent New Years. I spend New Years on the beach in Paihai, watching fireworks with Michaela and Geshe. For those of you who have experienced the debautchery of the Niagara Grape and Wine festival, I must say that sadly Paihai is about 100 times worse. Every other person was holding up someone else, and the police, they were out in force. I wouldn't have wanted to be a police officer for sure! They set up big holding tanks for the people who get into trouble, drink underage, or get into fights. I had a more peaceful night then most I would say. I was in bed by 2am! Sad but true, I am starting to feel my age. I caught myself looking at these younger people and thinking "Boy do I feel old." Maybe that had to do with the fact that most people seemed under 18. They are also very strict here in NZ for drunk drivers. We went through 2 RIDE checks and down here they test your breathe right away. No taking you away and doing it. They make you speak a sentance into the machine and it does it right away. NZ has a sad reputation for major drunk driving.

For the last week, I've been debating coming home because of family issues. I've spoken with Dad and Nicole and they have advised me to stay put in New Zealand. I have lit a candle, wished on shooting stars and prayed for the best outcome in the situtation. And I just wanted to say that I'm thinking about you and you are constantly in my thoughts. When I sit under a tree and listen to the leaves in the wind, feel the sun on my face, my thoughts are with you at home. And I hope you liked the present I sent home!!!

Today I went to Paihai to: 1. Pick up a couple things. 2. Unintentionally drive almost through a forest fire. 3. To read under a nice tree at Waitiangi. Yeah, the forest fire was supposedly caused by someone buring garbage. I've never seen flames that red before, and burning so high. It took 4 helicopters dumping water on it to get it out. As for the embers and high winds we had today, I really hope it stays out! It's very close to where people live, and I was worried they would close the highway on me. After relaxing under a tree and reading for about an hour, I thought to myself, "Tara, you're darned hot, today would be nice day for a swim." So I headed back to Kerikeri, and went to Rainbow Falls. I swam, went behind the falls and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I will go back and take pictures! And I recently found out about eels (big honking eels!) that take up residence in the places I have been swimming. I'm quite freaked out by this.........maybe I've seen 2000 leagues under the sea too many times!

The computer here seems to still be acting up and not accepting my memory card, so once I decide to kick it, it may work. Sorry about no pics everyone!

I also received a late Christmas present from Julie, my old co-worker at Oxford Dodge. I'm so diggin the Christmas socks you sent, even though it's too darned hot to wear socks, I shall not fail you! Needless to say I put my Ipod on and cranked the Neil Diamond in your honour. I think I scared a couple of people in the hostel with my "dancing." heeeheee

I also met a nice Wellingtonian named Stephen and he said that for the right price he would marry me so I could get residence here........he said the price is negotiable. I failed to mention this to my Dad on the phone today, so Dad, start saving!!! (just a little joke!) He said he'd show me around Windy Welly when I got down there. Sweet, my own personal tour guide!

I read this proverb written in a visitors book here at the hostel, I thought it was fitting.

She who loses wealth loses much,
She who loses a friend loses more,
But she who loses courage loses all!

Hugs everyone, and I hope your New Years was safe!




Advertisement



3rd January 2006

Happy New Year Tara....hope you have a great year in your travels...I'm enjoying the photos.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb