Christmas and Rotten Eggs


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
December 27th 2005
Published: December 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My Christmas was great. There's so much to say but so little time. I woke up at about 8 am to find Christmas presents being handed out by Andrew (the manager at the hostel) and having a glass of some cheap champange (better then nothing). I spoke with Mom, Dad and Nicole and opened my presents. The family calendar is quite the hit down here in New Zealand! I then went off to Tom and Julia's to meet the rest of their family and have a nice New Zealand Christmas Meal. It consisted of avacado and shrimp, lobster tail, chicken, ham, potatoes, salad, and pasta. For dessert we had triffle with a lot of brandy in it. I really felt like I was going to breathe fire, apple pie, fruit cake (this one was kinda yuckie) and lemon pie. We then played a french game similar to lawn bowling with very big silver balls, and sat under the shade on their front lawn talking. At about 4 pm, Geshe and I left them so they could have some more quality time together.

Later that evening Micheala (the manager on the weekends) brought us back some food from her Christmas lunch, a traditional Maori Hangi. This is where they dig a pretty decent hole in the ground, add rocks, metal and wood to cook the food and give it a very distinct flavour. We were treated to lamb, beef, kumara and pumpkin cooked in this way. So basically we had 2 Christmas dinners in one day! I was pretty lethargic after that. We stayed up, shared some wine, and played cards until midnight, enjoying the beautiful weather we were afforded.

I received presents from Geshe, Micheala (who bought me a book of Maori Tales, a Maori CD of Haka and Poi dance songs, and a book on where to experience Maori culture in NZ) and a lovely nightlight from Andrew.

I felt so lucky to have such nice things from family and also the people around me here. I hope everyone's Christmas was safe due to the weather I heard from Johanne that you guys where getting.


Yesterday Geshe and I went to the local hot springs called Ngawha Springs, half an hour drive from KeriKeri. These pools are revered by the Maori people as having healing quailities for each one. Each pool is directly over top of where the water comes from the earth, and each one has a different colour and temperature. These pools were discovered in the 1600's by a female Maori Chief. She found them soothing after giving birth to her child. It is presently run by the local Maori people, and many locals come bathing on a regular basis to help their particular ailment.
There are signs all around this place warning you to not emerse your head under water because there may be meningitis bacteria in the water that could enter through your ears, nose.....
I was a tad freaked by this, but the water seemed to call. The oldest of the pools is called Bulldog, and had a blue almost black colour to it. This pool was my favourite because it wasn't too hot. Some pools I couldn't even put more then my toes in! The local ladies I talked to said that this pool is good for back pain, muscle tension, eye cleansing and relaxation. They also encourage you to drink the water to help clean your kidneys and other organs. I wasn't going to try drinking it, let alone putting it in my eyes. Sorry I don't have any pictures! I left my camera back at the hostel. This place really is a very social place and you get to talking to the locals and other travellers that are also bathing there. I will definitely go back before I leave KeriKeri. It was just nice to feel unwound......but the down side is smelling like rotten eggs! Oh well, I guess I have to suffer to feel good at times! And after 2 showers, I finally feel like I've kicked the smell. I guess now I realize why people were not talking to me and Geshe last night at the hostel...heheheheee.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb