Much improved


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
December 28th 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a much improved day on my Hellish journey. I went into the town of Keri Keri and had a wonder round. Nice largish town, has a McDonalds and a Subway and both New World and Woolworths supermarkets. I picked up loads of leaflets to see what was going on. Quite disappointed that a working steam sawmill wasn't operating. I had lunch in town, a nice Greek salad and a huge piece of Hummingbird Cake. It's banana and pineapple and maybe something else I can't remember. It's lovely and light, like a cross between a banana cake and a carrot cake, which a cream cheese style topping. I might have lunch there again today... I tooko a drive out to Matauri Bay, which is where Dave and Sue are living. The bay looks gorgeous. It was very busy, busiest Dave and Sue have seen it. That afternoon I went along to see Dave and Sue. The house they have is lovely - though unfurnished. Dave had to make a chair that afternoon for me to sit on! We went round all the little bays, and I plan to go back there today to chill out and have a paddle perhaps. We also were looking for a B&B somewhere. Dave and Sue had more than enough space for me, but with little or no furniture, absolutely nothing for me to sleep on. Most places had no vacancies and we were joking that I might have to go into Keri Keri and buy a sleeping bag! Luckily we pass a place in Whangaroa (where I'd stayed the night before) that had a vacancy, so I booked in there a couple of days. Dave, Sue and I headed back to their place and sat around with Sue's mum and dad gossiping and putting the world to rights! I had a lovely afternoon and evening with them, Sue's shepherd's pie was gorgeous and I Dave bribed me with a couple of beers in exchange for showing him some Dreamweaver stuff. Dave and Sue are just the same as they always were, a bit more tanned, much more relaxed and you can see the stress just draining out of them, which is so lovely. They all made me feel very welcome and I enjoyed their gorgeous shower, which made me feel human once again! Thanks guys :D

Late that night I went back to Whangaroa Bed and Breakfast with Marlene Keeys (email: r.khays@xtra.co.nz). She's fab! It's her birthday today, so I've got her some special chocolate from a luxury place that makes it here (mum, I was going to get you some of their ginger, which even I liked, but they only had it covered in dark chocolate, which I know you don't like - it's the thought that counts!). Her house is very 70s, but fab. There's even glitter on the ceiling, and most of you know how much I appreciate that...

Posted 3kg of stuff home this morning as my backpack is getting a bit on the porky side and it's cheaper to post than to pay excess on the flight. MUST NOT BUY ANYTHING ELSE!! Right I'm off for that hummingbird cake again I think 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb