Hic.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
December 29th 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

After some lunch (actually, not Hummingbird cake after all) I went for a walk in Keri Keri basin. There is a walk all the way up to Rainbow Falls, however it's closed until early 2008 for some road works. I walked up to some other waterfalls though. A lovely walk through the lush woodlands. It took me a while to notice that there were lots of dead leaves on the ground. The Wharepuke falls were lovely and I clambered over lots of fallen tree branches for a decent picture. On the way back I took a short cut cross country, just because the rocks looked interesting to walk over. Then I drove up to one of the bays that Sue and Dave showed me yesterday. I intended on going for a decent paddle, or maybe even a swim. However the water was really bloody cold! So instead I sat and read some of a newspaper I bought specifically because it had a picture of Superman's underpants on it. Then just sat adn watched the world go by for a while. From there it was back to the B&B as I was going out wiht Myleene that night, as well as some of her friends and family, to celebrate her birthday.

We went down to her local gamefish club. She had warned me it was full of lots of rough Kiwi's, so you can imagine that I was in my element... The place was decorated with loads of different types of fish on the walls, lots of plaques and trophies from their competitions. It was indeed full ofsome rough Kiwi's (and some not so rough ones), whom chatted to me quite happily and I even got the odd wink. I had a Jim Beam and coke, then went on to a similar drink called Barrel 51. It amused me no end that, from my perspective, I was a bit in the back of beyond, yet when they did their raffle (all meat products) they used an electronic device rather than putting a hand in a bucket! Myleene got given a bottle of champagne by the club and someone sang her happy birthday, which she went very red at. After some flirting with the bar man, I got everyone to sign the champagne cork and I in turn signed the guest book. We went back to Myleene's, ate the chocolates I gave her and listed to some fab blues. I didn't get to sleep until the early hours; a lovely Kiwi evening 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb