All that low land. high sky, wide water


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
May 27th 2015
Published: May 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hello you beautiful people!

I'm just sitting here in my room and thought I would take the time to tell you all how and why I came to be in Auckland, realized I didn't really tell my backstory and what I've been up to besides my hike!

So, flashback to January where I was once again stuck in Dixon, unhappy with everything, and wondering what to do next. Cue my long lost very persuasive best friend Sydney! This girl reached out to me and told me how amazing Australia and New Zealand were and set a fire under my ass to get out and travel again. So within a month of talking to her, my plane ticket was bought! Sold my car, a bunch of my stuff, and hopped on that plane! Now I actually went to Brisbane, Australia for 2 weeks first and visited my friend from my Disney college program and it was wonderful, filled with beaches, good times, and lots of pizza!

And now I call Auckland, New Zealand my home. How cool right?! It's such a perfect city, with such diverse people. I had a guaranteed job right when I got here working door to door sales with charities. Needless to say although I learned SO much, and had such an amazing team and leader, I just wasn't making the money I needed to so I quit. Hit a bit of a rough patch after that, as I was jobless and the money I came here with was dwindling. But no way was I going to call it quits and head back to Dixon. So i looked and looked and looked, got set up with a temp agency and got my job offer today! I'll be working as a customer service agent via email inquiries for the Auckland Transport System. Full time and good money. I met half my team today and they were all great so I'm excited to start on Tuesday, earn that money, so I can travel this beautiful country!

When I decided to move, family and friends wondered..How? Why? I said, why not! If you're not happy with your life, or if you know there is something more out there. go for it! All I know is that I want to travel and see as much of the world and have the most experiences I can. It takes some sacrifice, leaving loved ones behind sucks, but when I look back I want to know that I had no regrets.

I absolutely love being here with my best friend, learning alot about myself, and I look forward to my year here!

Stay tuned for more!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb