Awesome Fiji adventures


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 7th 2014
Published: October 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

21st September-So I dragged myself out of bed for 9am to meet the tour lady to book my otter trip and she never showed up. So I emailed the otter people and they eventually got back to me saying they didn't have any trips at the moment as it was winter. So my one thing I could've done in Lima didn't happen 😞 So I spent the morning getting my inca pictures off my camera on the hostel computer, uploading them to fb and writing my blog....oh I watched TV again too. I took it upon myself to go to the restaurant where I found causa on my first night here and picked up two to go so I don't have to leave hostel tomorrow haha!

22nd September-So I checked out at 11am and hogged the hostel sofa all day until my taxi picked me up at 9.30pm. Only 47 soles this time which is like a tenner....that's more like it! Not much to say really, just waited for my first flight to Atlanta and settled in with the inflight movies.

23rd September-We landed in Atlanta around 9ish and I picked up my bag, dropped it off again and jumped on my flight to lax. I watched Bad Grandpa on this flight and had forgotten how funny it was....I was literally crying with laughter. The woman next to me kept giving me strange looks. We got to LA around half twelve where I picked up my bags and stored them with the luggage people before jumping on my shuttle bus to the Warner bros studios. The tour was amazing! First of all we got to sit and watch a little movie of the studios accomplishments of the past ninety odd years in a cinema setting before starting our tour with a very enthusiastic guide. We jumped on buggies and toured the streets. We saw Chester the horse from 2 broke girls, the steps down to the shop where Gizmo was bought in the film Gremlins, the fire escape where Annie performed 'It's a hard knock life', and a shack by a lagoon that was used in The Waltons and Million Dollar Baby. There was so much more and a lot of it was about recent shows including Pretty Little Liars which I'm going to have to watch now as we got to tour the set! We went to the museum to see the Batman and Harry Potter exhibits.....I sat down to have the hat placed on my head and it shouted out straight away....Gryffindor! Well what can I say? We then had a tour of the bat mobiles in a warehouse and had our picture taken running from something behind us. Finally we got to sit in the Central Perk cafe on the latest FRIENDS sofa woop woop! I picked up a few small souvenirs, one of which is a little Warner bros pin for my little rucksack 😊 I had to use all my strength not to buy a Harry Potter wand! Before I was due to be collected by the shuttle I had to ring them and let them know where to pick me up as the place is massive! Whilst I was waiting it was getting a little dark but I got picked up soon after so it was all good.

I had a bit of a mare back at the airport because first of all I couldn't find my flight so I went to the Fiji Airways check in as they were the only flight going out and it turns out they changed their name and it was my flight. I also noticed a fittie checking in at the next desk....I do hope he's on my tour! ? My next step was to get my bags back. I waited for 45 minutes before ringing them again. Turns out they were waiting for me at arrivals, not departures....tits! As I was on my way to collect them I asked the guy pushing all the trolleys if I could have one and when he stopped I preceded to the back to get one and unclipped the bungee cord thingy as he said 'no, what are you doing?' Then all the trolleys started rolling down towards the road and cars. I nearly shit my pants! Luckily a guy stopped them at the bottom. So I was like 'oo sorry....so can I have one?' Then he was like 'no you gotta pay for them'. So my argument is....why the hell did he stop in he first place?! Finally I got to check into my flight and was able to check both my bags....result! On my way through security I was given a line to stand in by a bossy guard so didn't move when the other line was shorter and he was like 'line number four is shorter....you don't wanna use it?' Honestly! Then some pushy Chinese lady kept trying to get in front of me....I hate airports! Finally I was settled on board with a spare seat for sleeping, movies and food. Bliss! I won't have an entry for tomorrow as I won't get to see it because Fiji is 17 hours ahead....crazy!

25th September-I got into Nadi airport around 5am and was looking for a taxi when a guy from my hostel came up to me and took my bags to their van...bonus! I couldn't check into my room til 1pm and all I wanted was to sleep. So I grabbed some breakfast and then fell asleep under an umbrella on the beach. I did try a hammock first but fell out because it was too slack....embarrassing! I've also got another cold 😞 I think I'm allergic to Lima....too bloody cold! After a much needed shower I chucked on my bikini and started sun worshipping 😊 All day I'd been seeing horses going past so late afternoon went to explore and found where you could take rides. The guy wanted to take me off galloping once I said I could ride but I was like 'no no I just want to go slow'. So he sent me with a guy on foot attached to a rope....this is not what I had in mind.

Eventually he let me loose and I got to do some trotting. I've never ridden on the beach before and what better place to start than Fiji! Amazing! On the way back he was like 'you wanna make him run' so I said ok and he jumped on the back and off we went. So much fun! When he got off he said I could go to the end of the beach and back so off I cantered. So glad I found my confidence. When I took Scar (the horse) back to its owner he said 'I thought you said you didn't wanna run? You are a very good rider mam' ? Note to self....don't ride in shorts-saddle burn! After an awesome first day I retreated to the dorm where I made two new friends and went to pasta night with them. We were all tired and I have to be up at half six to start my tour so headed back to the dorm. I attempted to watch an episode of Pretty Little Liars but fell asleep....jet lagged! Also a belated Happy Birthday to Albie as I forgot to write it in my blog last month....my bad!

26th September-So I was up and ready to leave at 7:15 on he coach to the ferry port. I also found out that one of my work besties Becky is having a baby....so happy! ? When we got there we were told to check our bags in and the man asked me where I was going and I was like 'I dunno' so had to go and check in at the desk where they gave me a bunch of vouchers for my resorts and activities. I didn't think I'd booked the full monty package where you get activities included but I had woop woop! We then boarded our cruise Ocean Dreaming to the islands. My first stop is Mantaray resort which took three hours to get to.....but the boat has wifi so it's not all bad! I thought this trip would be like the others where you're all in a group together but you just kind of island hop and meet people along the way. We got to Mantaray at about half eleven just in time for lunch at twelve 😊 The food here is amazing! It's so easy to be healthy too. After lunch I headed down to explore the beach and catch some rays. I picked up some snorkelling equipment on my way because apparently the reef here is really nice. I sat in the sea for a bit by the shore because it started to get a bit hot. I started putting my snorkel stuff on but the guy from the dive shop said I had to wait another hour until the tide was higher. Another guy came over and started feeding bread to the fish and the little buggers just came out of nowhere! After a while I went for my snorkel and the colours of the fish are unreal! I saw more starfish too so had a little touch. It still baffles me how they move because they feel so hard....like they're not real.

In the afternoon I signed up for the sunset tube cruise and bought a bottle of sparkling wine to take with me. We all set off in our bikinis in a little speed boat and when we were anchored all jumped in with our rubber rings. It took me ages to get on top of my ring and by the time I did I had drifted from the boat and had to paddle back to get my wine. Note to self...you cannot drink sparkling wine out of the bottle....it's too fizzy and the bubbles go up your nose. Me and another girl Harriett drifted so far away we spent most of the time paddling back and not getting anywhere instead of drinking. Eventually I decided to get out and swim. In focusing on not getting sea water in my wine bottle my Ray Bans fell off my head and sank straight away.....devastated doesn't even come close to how I feel! To make matters worse as I was flailing about trying to look for them I dropped my wine too 😞 Tonight was more effort and loss than relaxing and fun. I almost didn't bring my sunnies on the trip too! When we got back to the boat one of the guys had his scuba stuff on because one of the girls dropped her go pro camera after a guy chucked her out of her ring. So I asked the scuba dude if he'd find my sunnies for me but he couldn't because it was getting dark 😞 😞 Then this American twat really pissed me off because I was moaning I was sad and he was like 'dude I lost someone's go pro, do you know how expensive they are? Like 600 bucks!' Oh because I didn't work for my Ray Bans?! Knob! He's lucky I didn't push him overboard. And might I add that they found the go pro! I wish I'd got a go pro for travelling....they're amazing! Might need to get one. After dinner we went back down to he bar to watch some Fijian dancing and they got us all up doing the conga. Someone stepped on my flip flop and broke it so that's two things on my list to replace.....get me to duty free already! I really hope they still have my sunglasses in stock as there's only one type of bug shape that they make.

27th September-Today I was up at 7am to go swimming with Mantarays. A few of us were waiting patiently for the guy to come back from seeing if there were any about and when he did he banged the drums to let everyone know. We all set out with our snorkel stuff and got three chances to jump in to look for them. When I saw the first one I was taking in the sight when some dick had to get closer and kicked me several times with his flippers. The next one I saw came right at me and made me scream....but I didn't scare it away thank god. If you see one you have to put your hand up out of the water to let everyone know. After that I saw a couple really close. Their mouths are huge....they remind me of an old fashioned car's radiator. Awesome experience! Breakfast was also amazing. I was naughty and had pancakes and muffins 😊 I also had to have toast as they had veggie mite and I've never tried it....also amazing! I then took to a hammock and listened to some beats and took a little nap. A very nice New Zealand lady came over and gave me her spare sunglasses to borrow for the day....so sweet! I mean where are the people bugging you to buy sunglasses when you need them?!

After lunch me and Harriett did some sun bathing and when the tide was high enough headed out to do some snorkelling. I couldn't resist picking up a starfish and waving it at her...I find them fascinating! I also saw some swordfish and a sharkbate lookalike from Finding Nemo.....no Nemos or Dorys though. I took an early shower this eve to avoid the ques as there are only three for the whole resort. Dinner was ofcourse gorgeous and we all played games and drank down at the bar before bed. We played a game where you had to pair up with a guy and it was kind of like musical statues and when the music stopped the Fijian dude would shout out king, queen, princess or castle. For king the guy had to jump on the girls back, for queen the other way around, for princess the guy had to pick up the girl and for castle the girl had to sit on the guys back. The last one to form the pose was out. Me and this Canadian guy came third so not bad. I actually made it to bed past midnight woo hoo!

28th September-This morning I had a little lay in before breakfast and then packed up my things for check out. The resort manager won't write me a letter for my insurance for losing my sunnies so I guess I'll just have to try my luck or say I lost them somewhere else.....bastards! I chilled with my book until the guys sang us a little good bye song and we boarded our boats. Hugs with Harriett before I left....so wish we were going the same way. It didn't take us long to get to our next resort called Korovou. There was no welcome song on arrival because it's Sunday and is therefore a day of rest. This resort is nowhere near as nice as Mantaray but the people are good fun. We had lunch when we got there and then had a Fijian cooking lesson where we marinated Spanish mackerel in lime juice and added loads of chopped up ingredients to it before topping it with a slice of pineapple. It had a bit of a kick to it but was really nice! This place has a swimming pool as the tide is really far out. The water's a bit murky looking but I managed to swim what I worked out to be roughly a mile....I miss swimming! Then we had afternoon tea....which is literally a cup of tea, not even a slice of cake! I then did a spot of sunbathing before showering and heading to dinner. We have our bathroom right off the dorm here so that's much better. Dinner was nice and afterwards there were no evening activities so I had an early night.

29th September-So I rose from my eleven hour sleep at the sound of he Fijian drum call and headed to breakfast....no vegimite here 😞 We then went out Manta Ray swimming as we have a free voucher for it here, but there weren't any so we just had a little snorkel instead. The current was really strong so they dropped us off and took the boat up a bit and just let us float up to it which was good fun. We got back a bit before lunch so had time to make a coconut bracelet. The guy cut us a ring of coconut and we sanded off all the edges with sand and water on the beach. We then smoothed them with sand paper....I've still got some work to do on mine so he let me have a piece 😊 I also ate the coconut....apparently it helps make you skinny! After lunch we went out on a boat to a village to see how hey live and to visit a school. We saw their classrooms and sat down for a singing and dancing performance from the kids. Before heading back to the boat we stopped for a small ceremony and giving of cava which is their native drink made from a plant. I think it's like alcohol.....it makes your tongue go numb. So not like our cava. We then stopped by some women selling gifts and I topped up Mason and Myles's Christmas presents 😊 By the time we got back to the resort we'd missed afternoon tea so I took a nap before dinner. For pudding we had a banana with coconut and chocolate on it....mmm! A few of us then stayed up playing cards until the late time of ten o'clock! Get me!

30th September-After breakfast this morning we had to pack up and check out. I paid for fifteen minutes of wifi so I could let people know at home I'm not dead. We then chilled out in the dining room playing cards and making bookmarks out of leaves. There's a nice Aussie couple here who I'm going to meet in Sydney for high tea after Christmas 😊 The guy wanted to have a go at cracking a coconut with his hand but failed....so funny! I took the liberty of eating the coconut and keeping the shell to make candles as gifts for people. Our boat was quite late picking us up as the sea was really rocky. When we were boarding the boat our little one was jumping up and down so it was really hard to step out of it. Safe landing is my next stop and is on par with Korovou I'd say. Mantaray is defiantly the nicest. I ate lunch on the boat as I knew we'd miss it but they saved it for us so now I'm super stuffed! The weather is still really crappy so I've just been reading in my room all afternoon as it's freaking cold! Dinner was okay and we got chocolate cake for dessert mmm! We finished off the night with a quiz which my team won woo hoo! I never win quizzes. Our team mates were a mixture of Welsh (just me), English and German so our team name was Gwenglish lol!

1st October-I can't believe it's October already! Only eighteen days until my Birthday! This morning I was supposed to go on a snorkelling trip to the blue lagoon but it was raining so I postponed until the afternoon and had a massage instead which was amazing! Although it was a little strange because they do it outside under a little hut thing and she was just like okay take your top off! I then decided to get to work on my coconut shells....super hard work! The weather brightened up a tad this afternoon so off I went on my trip. My fins were too small for me and my snorkel was broken so I had to keep holding my breath and popping up for air. The best bit of my trip was when I saw my Aussie friends from the last resort coming too....I jumped up and down like a mad thing. I swam out to their boat where they were feeding the fish and got a little freaked out when I looked under the water as there were hundreds of them! I got back to the resort in time for a shower and a walk down the beach to a little afternoon tea shack with the most amazing cake ever! It was so good I had to have two pieces.....my bad! After dinner this evening we played racing games and were in two teams. For the first race we had to hit a can up the decking and back with a coconut in a sock. Then we had a mixture of stick races, egg and spoon races and finally a card suck and blow race where I ended up kissing one of the other girls ahh! We finished the night off with a rather different game of rummie.

2nd October-So today is my final day on the Yasawa Islands. I think Fiji is gorgeous but I'm ready to leave now. There's only so much down time one can take! Typically the weather was gorgeous today so I had to catch some rays before I boarded the boat. First though I checked out and finished sanding my coconuts with the activity guy and he then stained them for me. He sanded my coconuts with a sanding machine so they are super smooth! My bracelet is finished now too 😊 I then took myself off to the beach for an hour of no sun cream tanning time as it'll be my last bit of sun for a good while as its spring in New Zealand. After lunch we set off to the boat. This time we got to ride on the actual awesome Fiji adventures boat which looks awesome but the layout and wifi are not awesome :/ I met up with the Aussies again and played cards and napped until we hit the port five hours later.....such a long ride! I then caught the free bus back to my hostel, checked in and had dinner with two Canadian dudes I met. They live in Calgary which is where they have the biggest rodeo etc called the Calgary stamped.....gonna have to do that next year methinks. I then went to my room where I had a camp bed, but it was a private room with a bathroom instead of a dorm so I didn't moan. I also met another Welsh girl 😊 Bye bye beautiful Fiji! Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb