Peru on a shoestring tour and the Amazon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
September 21st 2014
Published: September 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

30th August-So this morning I bid farewell to the gorgeous USA sniff sniff! Note to self....do not go out drinking prior to a flight, you will almost barf on take off! As usual the airlines fed me well and provided good movies. Although I was slightly devastated when I wanted to finish a movie on the second flight and they didn't have individual tvs 😞 I got into Lima in Peru at about 8pm and began to search for my taxi. There was a big sign saying 'official taxi' so naturally I went towards it. As I was paying the $55 I noticed there were about 4 other taxi desks and as I got to my taxi which was a fancy black SUV I realised I had been duped....oh well, you live and learn.



When I got to my hotel in Barranco it was all locked up....this worried me but then I met three girls that were going back in so all was well. One of them was an Aussie called Amy who happens to be on my trip 😊 I was super tired so decided to hit the shower and sack. Got me another stamp in the old passport too woop!



31st August-Our tour didn't start until 7pm so I met with Amy at breakfast (which consisted of frothy funny juice and bread) and we went out to explore our surroundings. Peru is damn cold! It's winter here brr! After lunch we jumped on the turibus for a tour of Barranco, Mira Flores and downtown Lima. Our first stop was the old church in Barranco called the Ermita de Barranco. This is no longer in use due to an earthquake so we crossed over the bridge of sighs (which is under renovation atm) and saw the new and in use one across the road.



We explored some of Lima's historic attractions such as the San Martin square, the main square and the convent of San Francisco and it's Catacombs. In the main square was a pretty fountain, the cathedral and the palace where the president lives. We saw this guy walking his spaniel wearing a jumper, hat and sunglasses...so funny! The spaniel however did not look amused. Our last stop was the convent which is beautiful both inside and out. We took a tour of its museum and catacombs which were underneath.....these had bones of people who died in that era. They were all rearranged in to skulls, tibias, fibias etc.....weird!



We met our group in the evening who all seem nice. Most people have travelled in groups of 2 which is unusual. One guy hasn't turned up yet. Our guide is a Peruvian called Manuel...he seems very nice. He took us out for dinner at a nearby restaurant to try the local cuisine. I shared a plate of different things with two of the girls. We had causa (potato thing...really nice), ceviche (raw fish marinated in lemon), another potato thing in a yellow sauce and a temali (brown corn square thing...not too tasty). I tried a pisco sour which is the local drink and it was rank! I got the one called Machu Picchu which tasted like dental mouthwash. Apparently you're not supposed to mix it and should drink it from the bottom up :/



1st September-We headed off at 12pm today to the bus station where we caught an 8 hour bus ride to Nasca. I was expecting public transport to be awful but it was actually really comfy. The seats recline, lots of leg room, movies and they feed you! We met our missing tour member today but he met a girl rom Argentina on the bus and ditched us in favour of the night with her lol! Fast mover! We got to our hotel in Nasca pretty late so just had something to eat, showered and went off to bed.



2nd September-This morning me and two other girls went to the local airport for a 40 minute flight over the Nasca lines. These were pretty cool but not as good as I was expecting :/ They weighed us before we got on and oh my days I need to diet big style. I'm really trying but nothing seems to be working. I've got a workout plan in mind and am gonna give the aloe diet a go on my farm stay in New Zealand I think. They seemed pretty faint and hard to spot....my pics are dreadful, I can't even find the things on them. Plus I don't normally get motion sickness but boy did I wanna vom! The best thing about our little outing was that we got a stamp in our passports 😊



After lunch we were all picked up in a big sand buggy and taken to see a few sights before hitting the sand dunes. First of all we stopped to see the aqueduct which is part of the ancient irrigation system...it's like a circle of steps with water at the bottom. We then stopped at a sight where they are excavating buried pyramids where mummies and animal remains had been found. Our last stop before the dunes was what they called a cemetery but it was basically just a pile of bones. There was a child's skeleton sat in the foetal position with no head. Apparently they were given as sacrifices and buried in the foetal position in order to be reborn.



The sand dunes....oh my god these were so much fun. Firstly the driver was going super fast up and down the hills and we were all screaming our heads off. Then we stopped at the top of this really steep one for us to sand board down and I was last because I was too scared. But you know me, I can't not do something. So after about half an hour I finally did it. You can keep your hands in the sand to slow yourself down so I dug deep on my first try and fell off half way down because I was going too slow. The hill was a mare to climb back up so I only had one more go.



When we got back to the hotel we had an included dinner in the evening which they cook underground. It's a tradition called pachamunka which means Mother Earth. It was really tasty. We had it with corn juice too which has kind of a strange taste but is nice. I only booked this trip for the inca trail but I'm really enjoying it so far 😊 We caught the night bus to Arequipa and it was good for me to sleep sitting up as I've got a cold starting 😞



3rd September-We got to Arequipa at about 9am so by the time we got to our hotel we were able to check in which was good. We had a little siesta and then went for some lunch on a fancy terrace. Some people tried guinea pig but in my book they're pets and are too cute to eat! Me and Amy skipped afternoon activities and opted for a snooze instead. I'm gonna try to rest as much as possible before the inca trail as this is my annual autumn cold 😞



In the evening we went for dinner to a French restaurant for a bit of a change and had crepes and milkshakes. Although I'm really liking Peruvian food. Afterwards we went to a bar with a circus theme and made our own pisco sours behind the bar. I made a passion fruit one and it was gorgeous! After that Manuel taught us how to dance salsa style! He danced with all the girls and looked like he was loving it lol!



4th September-Today we set off in a little bus to a place called Chevay. Along the way we stopped to see some llamas and alpacas. Alpacas are smaller versions of llamas and have very soft fur....especially the babies. When we arrived we had time to go and get lunch before going to the hot springs. On the way to lunch we saw a little old lady in their type of dress walking a llama, a sheep and holding a lamb. Of course we all petted them and had pictures...was so cute! Amy had to go back to the hotel as this is our highest point so far and she was suffering from the altitude bless her. We were given these coco leaves to try that are supposed to help with the altitude changes. Apparently they're all natural but have a trace of cocaine in them :/ best not bring any home as souvenirs for people...I'll get stopped by the sniffer dogs! We then went to some hot springs were about 20 minutes out of the town and you had to walk across this swaying bridge to get to them.....this was scary! The hot springs made my skin feel really good though and seemed to clear my nose a bit. The outside of them were made out of like big pebbles.



In the evening we went to a local restaurant and had a three course meal. I'd been craving pumpkin soup and was so pleased when I saw it on the menu. The soups out here are to die for! I had their traditional desert called sancaya cake too which is made out of like a kiwi type fruit on a pastry base. There were people playing instruments and doing native dancing too. Was a really fun evening. It was quite cold in the town though so I was glad to get under the mountain of covers and get the heater on.



5th September-This morning we had to leave at 6:30am to drive out to the colca canyon to see the condors ascending from inside it. We waited for about 45 minutes and then all of a sudden there were loads. I managed to get a selfie with them in the background....skill! After that we took a short hike along the edge of the canyon to get some snaps before heading back to the bus. We then started to make our journey back to Arequipa. Along the way we stopped in a little village to see their church and buy some snacks etc. They have little alpacas as well as llamas out here so they sell alpaca wool scarfs etc. Manuel is going to take us to a local family in Cusco to get some good quality ones. One of the alpacas was on a loose reign and chased me to try and get my snacks...lil shit! I've developed a cough now too so it's not great 😞



We also stopped at the highest point of our trip (I think it was nearly 5,000m) to see the volcanoes....they had snow on top of them. It actually started to snow whilst we were there. Was bloody cold! I think the main volcano is called Misty. When we got back to Arequipa me and Amy went to a local cafe that was recommended to us for it's coffee and desserts mmm! Now you all know I'm not a history person but the convent is listed as the number one thing to see so I decided to go. It was a really good insight into what it was like for nuns centuries ago. They had quarters for novices who were training to be nuns and then the main quarters. It's like a little city inside walls. Considering their scenery was just walls they made it very pretty with different gardens and flowers. We even saw a nun on her way to prayer eek! In the evening we boarded another overnight bus to Cusco.



6th September-The only good thing about the bus was the food....this time they gave us a cooked meal. The rest of the ride however was awful! They turned the air con off and turned the heating on and I just couldn't get comfy. Finally fell asleep at 4am 😞 Our bus was delayed by two hours which was good as that meant I got four hours sleep instead of two. But the delay was apparently caused by a protest of locals on a bridge :/ When we got to our hotel our rooms weren't ready so we went for breakfast near the main plaza. I had a full breakfast which was amazing and had grilled halloumi cheese on the side mmm! Maybe I'll skip lunch hehe!



A couple of us were going to go horse riding in the afternoon after our siesta but it was raining. Apparently this is abnormal for the city. Manuel took us to a shop where we could get real baby alpaca products. I bought a green scarf for me with little alpacas on it and a dark cream one for my Nan 😊 He then took us to a silver shop where the owner showed us how they make jewellery. I bought a simple 3 band silver ring. My Dad bought me one when I first went to Ireland to visit him but I lost it 😞 In the evening we went to an Australian owned restaurant which pleased a couple of our group members. We also had our inca trail pep talk about what to take and expect bla bla bla! Manuel gave us our duffel bags....I'm only allowed to take 6 kilos of stuff as there are porters to carry them for you. So after my sleeping bag and air mattress is accounted for I only have 2.5 kilos! What ever shall I do?



7th September-This morning I packed my duffel bag, small bag to leave behind in our hotel before the inca trail and my big bag which was left behind in our cusco hotel. My stuff was only 2 kilos so I thought fab I'll chuck my hoodie in to make sure I'm super warm at night. Then Manuel told us no it's 2.5 kilos with the duffel bag. I thought fuck that it's coming haha! They'll never know. We nipped off to the local bakery for a snack and to the supermarket to pick up some gifts for the family we stay with at our homestay tonight. I got a pineapple, some rice and some lentils.



We set off at half 12 and stopped along the way to see the saqsaywaman on top of the hill which is like this big cross thing with lovely scenery around it. We arrived at our homestay in the Ccacaccollo community and were all assigned families to stay with. Our lady was called Patricia and she hugged us and gave us a bunch of flowers...so nice! She then put our duffel bags in a wrap and tied them on her back. She gave our other bags to her her kids to carry to her house. Everyone else was staying close to the plaza but we were half way up the bloody mountain...typical! It's not like I'm training for the inca trail or anything :p When we got there we had lunch and then helped Patricia to take the corn off their cobs and make a scarf. Her sons Michael and Brian then took us back down to the plaza late afternoon after Patricia had dressed us up in native dress.



On the way down to the plaza I said to Amy 'I hope everyone else is dressed up, I feel like a right twat'. Thankfully they were and we played football and other games with the local kids. I was quite glad of the extra layers as it got quite nippy. After dark the kids took us back up to the house where we warmed up by the fire (Patricia said 'oh señoritas!' Bless her) before changing and going for dinner. I liked some of the food today but other stuff was a little strange. At lunch I left the lump of meat in my soup as I didn't know what it was and couldn't be sure it wasn't guinea pig as we could hear them squeaking in the next room! Amy used her Spanish phrase book to help us communicate as they didn't speak English and Patricia got hers out too after dinner. She's so sweet. We both went to bed in all our layers and thermals as it was bloody freezing! Amy even slept in her sleeping bag lol!



8th September-This morning we had porridge and a gorgeous grilled cheese thing on leaves for breakfast. They fed us well at this homestay that's for sure. We both had photos with our little lady and then she gave us a bag of popcorn each and took us down to the village. We met with Manuel and then went to a little market just off the plaza where there's a woman's weaving project. They showed us how they clean alpaca wool, dye it and make things. We then went shopping at the stalls. I got myself a scarf and gloves for the inca trail and some cute gifts 😊 It's adult alpaca though not baby so it's not as soft. They had loads of alpacas in pens and some of them would spit on each other whilst you were feeding them....gross!



We then got on our bus to Ollantaytambo which is our last stop before we set off on the inca trail eek! When we arrived the electricity was out in our hotel. Clearly this distressed me as it meant not charging of cameras and no wifi. We set off out for lunch and on our way stopped to see a traditional home that had about twenty guinea pigs running around. I tried to catch one but they're not very tame. We then popped to the shops for rain ponchos, hiking sticks and snacks....I picked me up some Hershey's to keep me going. My stick has carvings on it and an Andean cross...not bad for two quid. I had a salad that was about twice the size of my head for lunch....couldn't finish it. One of the girls bought a painting of Machu Picchu and it was gorgeous so I went and bought one too! Not bad for £16 and it will hang nicely in my house...when I get one 😊



After a half hour shower and pamper (as we can't shower on the inca trail) we headed out for dinner at a local restaurant. Nick has parted with his Argentinian woman and rejoined the group for his trek. I ended up staying up in the garden when we got back to the hotel playing cards and talking til half eleven oops! Probs not the best plan when you're hiking the next day :/



9th September-So we set off on our little bus journey to the start of the inca trail at around half 8 this morning with our guides for the trail....Alejandro and Lucy. I was feeling both excited and nervous. We all posed by the inca sign with our backpacks and sticks before hitting our first checkpoint. We even got a stamp in our passport eek! I tried to take a photo with my finger puppet horse in it but it came out a bit blurry. We had to cross a very wobbly bridge to start the trail....I was not a fan! We had a flat bit then before a hill which was a killer but then we got to stop for our snack break. The guide had given us little snack packs with a banana and biscuits in it.



The next section was a huge hill but we got to stop at the top for a scenic rest and a bit of history time. I can't remember what Alejandro said but I did enjoy sitting down 😊 We then had a downhill and flat section before we hit the stop for lunch. There are porters carrying all of our stuff....duffel bags, tents, food, equipment. They're allowed to carry 20kgs each and are practically running up the hills...I think they're amazing! Lunch was delicious....we get soup and a main for each meal. There were loads of animals about....a little donkey who was walking a bit funny (looked like something was wrong with his back legs), a cute puppy that kept running away, a chicken that chased me because I tried to pick up one of her chicks and a cat that bit Fran when she fed it some trout.



The trek after lunch was okay and we all fussed a cute fluffy black puppy called Chicita. I was really fed up towards the end and the hill was getting steeper. All I could think about was how the guides had told us tomorrow is the hardest day, and I was suffering on day one! I was struggling to get up the hill and was last (no surprise there....I'm always the slowest) and so I had a little cry....then I couldn't breathe because of the altitude so I cried a little more. Thankfully only Alejandro saw me and not the group. What tipped me over the edge was that I saw a campsite, got excited and then got told it wasn't ours 😞 When we finally got to our campsite our tents were up so I laid down in mine for half hour to chill.



They brought us around bowls of hot water for a wash and I got my first bar of Hershey's out to share. It was gone in 5 seconds....maybe I'll scoff the next one all by myself hehe! I felt a bit happier by the time tea time came. We had tea, crackers with jam and popcorn whilst playing cards. Dinner was ofcourse amazing. We had to go to bed at eight because the porters use the dining tent to sleep in. This was no problem as I was knackered!



10th September-We were woken up at 6am by Lucy with some coca tea and a bowl of water. We got porridge and pancakes for breakfast and then set off on day two of our hike not long after seven. Our first stint was two hours long. At first I was keeping up with the group but then I kept needing to stop for breath so Lucy told me to go slow and not take any breaks because then my muscles won't cool down. So I decided slow and steady wins the race. I spent all day about five mins behind the group so I guess that wasn't bad. Altogether we hiked five hours uphill and for the last bit which led us up to the highest point I was about half an hour behind. When I got to the top everybody was cheering me on which was nice and brought a little tear to my eye. Who knew hiking could be so emotional!



After we had some time to rest at the top and take photos we began the two hour trek down some very steep unlevelled steps. Well I found this almost as hard and I was just as slow. By the time I finally got to camp I was fed up. We were able to have a shower at this site. Even though it was freezing and I had to use my t shirt as a towel, it was amazing! We then had lunch and retreated to our tents for a two hour nap. I also scoffed some Hersheys in silence 😊 We were supposed to do the meeting and greeting of all the porters but it rained all afternoon so we just had tea time as normal. Alejandro taught us how to play the game mafia with cards....so much fun! We got pudding with dinner tonight but it was some weird rice pudding and corn jelly stuff so I couldn't eat it :/



11th September-Today we had to leave camp around the same time after we had scrambled eggs for breakfast. Apparently now we're on the proper inca trail as the first two days of it had to be rebuilt. Our first trek was two hours of uphill and it was a bitch! My knees were killing me from the day before 😞 We stopped half way for Alejandro to do a ceremony where he said some stuff, buried some coca leaves and played a tune on his wooden flute thing. Today was like nine hours long because we stopped in a few places for history time and stopped for lunch too. Before we got to lunch it was a really scenic route along the edge of the mountains. I tried for ages to keep up with the group but in the end just fell behind and decided to stop and take photos where I wanted to.



An hour and a half on your own trekking can get quite lonely so I was a bit miffed when I got to the lunch site. Hugh asked me how my walk was so I said it was lonely. Then I shed a few tears and he was like but you're never far behind. I almost said well why don't you just slow down and bloody wait for me then! But decided against it. I was really not in the mood to set off hiking again after lunch but we had a group photo with the porters after we were introduced to them and some people tried their backpacks on.....really funny! The photos I have are hilarious! Hugh is a big softie really too as he gave me a hug to make sure I was okay. We got to our campsite around five, got washed and changed and headed off to explore the toilets. I fell arse over tit on the way and they were disgusting when I got to them. Me and my flashlight took it upon ourselves to venture into the wild for toilet time after that...plus it wasn't as far of a walk. After dinner we tipped our porters, Emily did a thank you speech and we played some more mafia 😊



12th September-Our final trekking day yay! We didn't get coca tea this morning as we had to be up at half three to walk down to the gate where they let you onto the trail to Machu Picchu. As we were waiting for it to open the heavens opened. First of all it was just spitting so I didn't put my poncho on as I hate it when they stick to your skin and you get all sweaty....big mistake! I got drenched trying to put it on in the end and Claire had to help me because I'm a total lemon! Our next pit stop was the sun gate above Machu Picchu. It had a set of steps called the monkey steps (or gorilla, I can't remember) that you were practically climbing up on your hands and knees. When we got up there you couldn't even see Machu Picchu because it was covered in clouds and mist. I was not best pleased. I had visions of the sun beaming down over it. I thought, I trekked for four days for this shit!



After photos of clouds and glimpses of what was beneath them we continued for I'd say another hour and then rested on some terraces with snacks. There was a scary looking llama that came towards me and then growled at me. I didn't even know they did that! We were all chilling with our feet dangling over the edge when he came charging at us but just swerved past and galloped over to a spot to do a poo. I thought we were goners! We made the final trek down into Machu Picchu where Manuel was waiting for us with a big hug. I actually think I missed him a bit....he's been one of my best guides. We then went to chill in the cafe for a bit before Alejandro took us on a tour of a few of the sights inside. On the way out the group went back up the hill to see if they could get a photo without clouds but I just couldn't face it. On the way out I got a stamp in my passport 😊 it is looking ace now! Over half of it is full. I've got three years left before it expires so the mission to fill it is on!



I waited for some of the others at the cafe before we went down into the town on the bus. When we arrived we headed to the restaurant to have lunch and wait for the others. A lady brought over our group photo from the first day by the inca trail. It came with a nice frame with a map of the inca trail and a certificate of achievement. It was only three quid and my hair looked so nice! Once the others were back we went to catch the train back to Ollantaytambo. The train was really pretty and had a conservatory type roof so you could see the sky. They brought us drinks and cookies too yum! The last leg of our journey was back to cusco via bus. Our driver was an excellent dj and played all the classics for us. I have to say that by the time we got there the bus was smelling a bit stale. I've never felt so gross! I put my hair up inside my hat because I couldn't bare it touching me. I felt bald! When we got back we showered and had takeaway chicken and chips....delicious! It was hard but I did it! Life wouldn't be any fun if there weren't any challenges. Remember peeps....it's not too late to sponsor me! www.justgiving.com/Laura-Doheny1



13th September-Last day of the tour wah! Today was a free day so after a little lie in me and Amy went shopping. I picked up some nice souvenirs and posted them home. My sis told me that the hmrc want another £85 for my parcel I sent from the USA....I'm fuming! Gotta sort that out...thieving bastards! We then went for lunch before I headed off to be pampered. I had a facial and all over body massage. They actually squeeze your spots! She squeezed spots I didn't even know were there :/ The massage was really good but boy it didn't half hurt when she did my legs. No pain no gain! On the way back to the hotel we picked up some wine for pre drinkies. I got something that looked as close to prosecco as I could get 😊 Wasn't bad either! We had our final group meal and pisco sours before heading to the clubs. We salsad, danced on the bar and had a great time! Even the nerds got wrecked!



14th September-So today we checked out, I did a bit of skyping and then took my bags to my hostel. I really wanted to take my beloved stick that hiked the inca trail with me but there's just no room so I reluctantly left it behind 😞 The hostel looks really cool. There's a bar, TV room, computers, courtyard, hammocks etc. I met up with some of the girls to go to the markets before lunch. I got myself a leather Machu Picchu pencil case. I need one for work and thought it would be a nice reminder 😊 I also picked up a mini bottle of inca cola as I just love the stuff! Was gonna get a t shirt but thought that might be taking things just a tad far lol! We pottered around the town for a bit and then had a coffee before heading back to our hostel. We all arranged to meet up for dinner and had pizza. We all then said our goodbyes but I couldn't bare to be parted from the Aussies so went back to their hostel for movie night. We watched Liar Liar.....I haven't seen it in years and it's still just as hilarious! Fab end to the trip 😊 The girls walked me back to my hostel then and we said our goodbyes 😞 sniff sniff!



15th September-So this morning I packed up my stuff and caught a cab to the airport. I don't really know what the point in me checking in online was because I still had to que. The check in lady did let me weigh myself on the baggage scales though.....two kgs down woop woop! I gotta get this meat off me! It took ages to find out which gate I was flying from because my ticket said two and then a flight to Lima was going from there. Then I saw a lady from my airline and she started opening a desk for us.....the most disorganised airport I've ever seen! When I arrived at Puerto Maldonado airport there was a dude holding a sign with my name on.....so cute! He introduced himself as Elvis and took me to the bus.



We dropped our big bags off at the office and put the necessities in a duffel bag which they threw on top of the bus. We then made our way to the tambopata river to board our motorised canoes. The group then split in half and I realised I was with a Belgian couple and a bunch of French speaking Canadians who had a translator with them. No one looked below forty. Needless to say I was not impressed as all the younger fun people were in the other group. I then found out that my group booked with a different tour provider to me and I've just been dumped in with them. We had a little tin lunch on board which was nice and spotted lots of wildlife along the way. We saw a turtle sunning itself on a log, loads of butterflies....apparently they like the salt in the mud, a heron fishing, and a capybara. It kind of looks like a cross between a wombat and a beaver (the biggest rodent.....super cute for a rodent!).



When we got to the lodge we received our welcome drink and had our introductions. There is only electricity in the main bar from 5pm to 10pm to charge phones etc and we survive by candlelight in the lodges! Kind of cute. On the way to my lodge I saw a parrot and he said 'ola' to me haha! So cool! It is so boiling here! The humidity is unreal. We met back at the bar at six thirty and I mingled with the other group so that made me feel a bit better. They're only staying two nights and I'm staying three so that's probably why. We all had a slideshow about the rainforest and then headed out for our night walk.



We saw these massive ants that bite called bullet ants, stick insects (just like the ones I used to have as pets!), a cricket, a small beautifully coloured toucan sleeping on a branch, a little hummingbird....think he was sleeping too, a hunting spider and a Pygmy owl that was tiny! You could see his beady little eyes staring at you. We also saw a type of tree called the walking palm tree. It had loads of little twigs at the base and does apparently move very very slowly. We then had dinner and headed back to our lodges. I chilled for a bit in the hammock outside (we all have one) and read my book. I've started on the Jane Austen novels....they were free off iBooks too! 😊



16th September-So today we had to be at breakfast at six :/ I so didn't want to get up as at that time of the morning the temperature is so cool, it's perfect for sleeping. As we set off it began to rain 😞 so I picked up some wellies on the way to the boat. Our first stop was to do a little nature walk through the forest. I did not enjoy wearing my poncho again but I was kind of camouflage.....I was blending in! Haha! Elvis crushed these special leaves and added water to make a red colour. They use it as a dye for clothing. He painted some of our faces so we looked like warriors....yes I got roped into doing it :/ He tried poking a stick into a teranchala hole but nothing came out 😞



We then went onto lake Condenado in a tiny canoe that wobbled like mad when you climbed aboard. We had to bail the water out of it first lol! The group behind us just sailed off on the actual dock! So not fair. We saw some birds (I forget what they're called now) with pretty coloured wings. One pair kept humping....exhibitionists! We made our way over to the other side so that we could go and look at the giant trees that are like 400 years old. They're not as big as the sequoias I saw in the states but some of them are hollow so you can climb inside them. Shortly after our tree visit a nasty wasp stung me on the back of the neck. I did a bit of dancing around whilst my guide pulled the sting out ouch! 😞 it didn't hurt for long though which was good and there's no swelling woop! Better than our wasps. We then boarded our tiny canoe again and had snacks which we shared with the piranhas. I felt like a kid wearing wellies and made a point of going through all the puddles and squelching in the mud hehe!



We got back to the lodge just after eleven so I jumped straight in the shower as I feel so minging here. Then I took a nap under my mosquito net to cool off 😊 This place is so relaxing. I've yet to explore the watering hole for a swim but I'm told it's not too nice and needs a bit of work. This afternoon we had optional activities but the one thing I wanted to do was go up onto the tree platform for a birds eye view but apparently the platform is rotten so we can't do it. A few things have disappointed me on this little trip so I'm glad the amazon is so beautiful....it can't really be spoiled. I spent the afternoon playing cards with the other group and played with the lodge's parrot called Homer. He's a rescue parrot and laughs at you. He's so cheeky.....we were giving him bits of Apple and he kept taking a bite and dropping the rest on our heads. We also saw the cat (whom we call baby puma because he's black) chasing something that looked like a capybara to me, but was something else. Still cute though! We then went on our evening boat ride along the river to spot caimans. We saw quite a few and we also saw a huge family of capybaras which were adorable! We finished with a peaceful gaze up at the stars in the sky. The view of them over the tree lines in the darkness is just something else. Before bed we spotted a prey mantis which is a bug that's looks like a leaf. He was just casually chilling out on a leaf.



17th September-This morning we were at breakfast again for six before we got back into the canoe to go bird spotting. We had a bit of a trek to get there and along the way we managed to find a teranchala hole that was occupied. It was massive! By far one of the ugliest creatures I've ever seen. We then arrived at little bird watching houses made of leaves. We saw the most beautiful macaws flying around. Such pretty colours! My camera wasn't good at taking pictures so far away but I could see them really well through my monocular....thanks Beth! 😊 Elvis took a picture through his binoculars for me so I've got some good close ups 😊 We also saw some saddle-back tamarin monkeys in the trees....the smallest monkey here. On the way back to the lodge on the boat we saw a whole family of capybaras swimming across the river.....a bird kept landing on their heads so they each kept ducking....adorable! The only thing I'm missing is seeing the giant otters but apparently you don't get to see them very often in this area.



After lunch I was going to go on another nature walk but I was so hot I cracked open a Brazil nut with a machete, grabbed a beer and headed down to the watering hole....there were quite a few people down there too! It was a bit merky but really refreshing! I then retreated to my room to shower and chill in my hammock....I need one at home! At dinner we had cake as it was the French guide's Birthday soon mmm! We also saw a massive porcupine running past the window so all went out after it. I didn't manage to get a photo as my phone was charging but I think sometimes it's better to be watching something and actually see it rather than snapping all the time. A couple of us went for one last nature walk this evening as another group told me they saw a snake last night but we couldn't find it 😞 Oh well, off to my hammock I go one last time.



18th September-Will Scotland vote yes or no? So today we left the lodge around half seven and made the two hour trip back to the airport. This airport is just as shit as cusco airport. There's no air con, half the plugs don't work and the food is minimal! Get me back to Lima already. The flight was okay....got me a few hours with my Jane Austen book 😊 So I didn't get done fifty dollar style for the taxi but thirty dollar. It's not cheap enough but it's progress. So I settled into my damp, slightly ming hostel and headed out in search of causa.....and found it nom nom! I gotta get me the recipe for this. I hope no one wants the top bunk because I've moved in around it....I got some shit.



19th September-So after a little lie in I headed down to breakfast which is bread and fruit. I then caught up on a few programmes that took twice as long to load due to buffering :/ I then decided to stop being a lazy chub and go for a run. This made my shins hurt so I went food shopping for the next few days. I'm in love with a pink yoghurt drink they have here mmm! I then took to the sofa for the evening until the early hours catching up on the latest Dallas and Scandal episodes. I met a nice girl from England who's dating a Welsh guy woop! We made a date to go and see the magic water fountain show in the city centre tomorrow night. I also met a Scottish couple who voted yes and are not happy....ouch!



20th September-Today I tried to book a trip to go and swim with seals but the booing lady has gone home and will be back tomorrow so hopefully I can go in the afternoon 😊 I took to the sofa all day and watch TV and uploaded travel pics. My brain hurts 😞 Then tonight me and Georgina went to see the light show with another English girl we met in the hostel. It was cool and we ran through the lit up fountain arches....only got a little bit wet. We then went back to Kennedy square in Mira Flores for dinner. An early night was then in order xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb