Looking for Work in New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 16th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Monday Thru Wednesday 14 - 16 August

Note: Auckland is on an isthmus that that at its narrowest point is no more than a mile or so across. Waitemata Harbour is to the north and Manukau Harbour to the south. Given the close proximity of two salt water bodies I would have expected the smell of ocean salt in the air. Much to my surprise the familiar ocean scent is missing. I asked a ferry boat captain about this discovery. He informed me that the Harbours are so well protected that rarely does a wave break on the beaches. When the Maori arrived they gave the harbour a name that means “sparkling water” or “shimmering water” I don’t remember which one it was. This name was due to the fact that the sun glitters on the relatively still water.

Not much touring done for these three days, I was busy conducting my job hunt. Meetings, phone calls, followed by more meetings. This being in between things is frustrating I’m not really a tourist, and I’m not established. It takes some getting used to this flux situation.

I’m defiantly better prepared and in a more positive mindset than when
Rangitoto IslandRangitoto IslandRangitoto Island

See the shimmering water?
I attempted this in London. Only real snafu is my selection of clothes, I packed for late September weather but this is August, no worries I’ll live.

The feedback I’m receiving from contacts is that I should have a nice position lined up within two weeks.

During this span of time I did have an opportunity to see the Auckland Art Museum, which is housed in two buildings. The larger is your typical art museum, the smaller houses the Modern New Zealander works of art. The contemporary New Zealand exhibit was disappointing. There was only one room with a very small selection of exhibits the remaining rooms were closed down for refurbishment.

I’ve become a human weathervane on rainy days. My umbrella that I brought from the States has a broken truss assembly, which has reduced the tension on the cloth. On a windy day the umbrella spends as much time turned inside out as it does the proper way. I’ve perfected the science of running the umbrella into the wind which works wonderfully, however I must take on the appearance of a staggering fool. I need to remember to purchase an umbrella next time I’m out.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd August 2006

Hang in there, Donovan
you'll find a job and all will be fine....put faith in yourself and Jesus and the job will appear when you least expect it....confidence and positive attitude are the most important attributes in an employment search Uncle Cliff

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb