Around the World in 30 Days


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
September 4th 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After two failed attempts to get to South America it looks like this one is actually going to come off. I'm getting my last taste of western culture, well kind of, in the Qantas lounge at Auckland airport before boarding the LAN flight for Santiago and Quito.

Our final destination on this first leg of the trip is actually San Cristobal in the Galapagos Islands. Following a punishing schedule of flights around Australia these past few days the last thing I really needed was six more flights in quick succession. The fact that I've been working 24x7 8 days per week this year and even coughed up some claret last weekend tells me I really need a break. Just hope that I don't worry too much about the businesses back home. At least I've left the MacBook at home and this iPad will restrict my tendency to log into my world of project management consultancy.

Sarah has done most if not all of the planning for the trip, not that you could have held her back. She loves it. So happy to be traveling together with her again. Memories of climbing Kilimanjaro together flood back.

We've left our gay Italian poofter at home with our house-sitter, Catherine. She likes cats and Toby seems to like her. Our lovely Brazilian student, Marianna, has gone to another host family and Jonny, of course, is now living in Indooroopilly.

So, we're set for a week sailing around the Galapagos, four days in the amazon jungle, a couple of days in the Mindo Valley (all in Ecuador) then we head to Macchu Picchu and the Inca trail. There we split. Sarah goes home and I head to England where Mum turns 70 and I get to watch Chelsea.

In a day or so, we'll be staring at blue footed boobies!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb