Ketchup. Get it? Catch....up...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 28th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know what you’re thinking, “Joy, you are SOOOOO behind on this whole blog thing!” And normally I would agree with you and feel guilty. But I promise you, I can pretty much catch you up in one entry. Ok, here we go.
I woke up to Kat packing to get on the bus to Mt. Cook. Luckily, I had already decided to stay behind in Queenstown for a few days. Why luckily do you ask? Because I woke up sick. And I don’t mean hangover sick or sniffles sick I mean sleep until 2PM even while the cleaning lady vacuums sick. Woke up, headed to the doctor, she says it’s a cold, back to bed. Somehow, someone convinces me to go get more free BBQ for dinner. That is the extent of my outings for the day.
Day 2 of death by NZ illness, wake up sick, return to said doctor to get prescription as there is worrisome patch of pus at the back of throat, go to pharmacy for drugs, eat soup at café, find grocery store for water and yogurt. Sleep until 5:30. Awake because boys (our UK friend Alex and a Welsh bloke named Ryan that was involved in 1:30 AM swimming) think that pub trivia is a good idea. Agree. Hostel bed is not comfortable and tired of tiny room. Trivia is a good, low key diversion from throat pain. In bed by 930.
Day 3, bus from Queenstown to Christchurch. Somewhere between a Greyhound and tour bus. I sniffle, sneeze, blow my nose or cough every time a new passenger gets on. Somehow manage to keep my row empty the entire 8 hours but I can’t imagine for the life of me how I’ve done this. Have booked fancy modern hotel for a good night’s sleep finally. Room is so tiny I manage to develop claustrophobia and believe I may be beamed up to alien space ship as I shower in green glass pod. Also, how do you shave your legs in this thing? Never answer that question but have a blissfully quit night of sleep, will blame that on drugs.
Day 4, Christmas Eve. Fly to Auckland. All goes as planned until last 20 minutes of flight when every last drop of virus infected mucus is sucked from sinus cavities into ear drums. OUCH. Maybe I should have taken those antibiotics as prescribed. Also, upon landing, realize I have about 10%!h(MISSING)earing in my left ear and maybe 30%!i(MISSING)n my right. Am worried that I am either SHOUTING EVERYTHING I SAY or am way too quiet. Finally meet up with cousins and explain said deafness. Eventually make it to the house, shower and crash for the night.
Days 5 of NZ Kiwi flu or whatever strange disease I have contracted in this country, also, Christmas. Air mattress I am sleeping on has decided that I am a Sumo wrestler and it is a slice of bread. Flattened beyond rescue. Have slept on concrete floor all night. AWESOME. However, awaken to sausages, fried eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and most importantly, endless mimosas. The next 5 or so hours are spent eating breakfast while drinking mimosas, drinking mimosas while hanging out, eating lunch while drinking mimosas and then, just drinking mimosas. Conclude this is a fantastic Christmas. It is sunny here. It is snowing at home. I win.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb