The work? It can wait...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The guitarThe guitarThe guitar

Maaannnnn.
For those of you who know me best, you will know that I change my mind often. And after the last blog where I was almost defeatist and slightly down-beat about coming into New Zealand and simply finding a job after the memorable adventures of South America had passed... Things have changed.

I have now bought a little mock camper-van, fitted out with a bed, gas stoves, cutlery, plates, cups, cupboard and curtains. I am going to get out there on the open road of New Zealand for the next few weeks and see what it's all about. The mountains, the beaches, the glaciers, the lonely mountain roads, the forests, the rivers, the lakes, the fresh air, the wind, the sun, the rain and so much more. It would've been a shame to just come here and work like a dog and see nothing.

When I got into Auckland and saw that everyone was doing this, or had been doing this, I couldn't resist. It's so simple, exciting and fresh, the idea itself revived me. I cannot wait to get out there. I bought a guitar to take with me and CD stereo and some good music to go with it. I arrived here just at the right time because the season is winding down and there are many backpackers trying to sell vans and cars; so naturally the prices are lower. I could even make money by selling it when the season starts in a few months and when I will have finished with it. What a life.

I have picked up for free bits and pieces from my hostel. They have a table where people can leave things they don't want or need anymore. I have had a tent, sleeping bag, food, boogie board, travel guide book, mini backpack and horrible tasting dutch liquorice! What a great idea isn't it? And thankfully there are a lot of people going home right now and leaving things behind. I am just waiting now for someone to leave behind a 6ft Swedish blonde girl and then I'll be away... We can live in hope.

Like I said, the work can wait for a while...

Speak soon...

Free, peace, sweet...

Jamie.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My living quarters...My living quarters...
My living quarters...

For the next few weeks on the road. How exciting.


8th April 2006

Lucky Lucky git
Hiya Jamie Looks fantastic ! Im soooooooooo jealous of your trip to NZ i cant even begin to put it into words ! Being the rugby nut that i am then NZ is my spiritual home ! I know that the game involving 22 idiots and a pigs bladder is more your style but please promise me while your out there you will try and catch some of the heaven that is called rugby and is played with an oval ball ! Enjoy yourself chick and keep up the travelling. Im loving the blogs and your style of writing. You were wasted working in Fords ! Love Sam xx PS if you get the chance look at the NZ phone book and see if you can spot anyone with 'AB' next to thier name. Means they were once an all black and have been capped ! (Fact of the day)
10th April 2006

Hello, how's Jackland?
Cheers for the message Sam... Actually when I was in Wellington just two days ago I was watching a game of rugby and football at the same time on two adjoining pitches. To be fair they both caught my equal attention... Football for how bad and comical the kiwis are at playing it and the rugby for how big, quick and strong they are! And how hard they hit each other in the tackle..! Ooofff, glad I am a footballer and all occasional all-rounder on the cricket pitch. Bollocks to that! It's very beautiful so far down here, I am now in the south island in Kaikoura, like a mixture of the greeness of Wales, the english lake district, the shorelines of Ireland and tinges of my spiritual homeland - Colombia. I love it. Speak soon Jamie 'Cienfuegos' Borley...
19th April 2006

Big Up!!!!
Got to say bro proud as reading your blog, havent looked for a while but have to tilt my hat and bow my head! You have recorded your thoughts and happenings in an eloquent and comical manner, that deserves all the admiration it will undoubtably bring. really looking forward to the unoffical added extras which you will divulge on return to this narrow minded and annoying land we call home. Still there are many people here who cant wait to see you, and dont forget a certain socailist football team itching for their prodigal future player to finally pull on their jersey! Amke sure the emails keep coming and carry on inspiring......Keep it Reel cous....

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb