Travelling Blues: Homeward Jack.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 27th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have spent four weeks in New Zealand and yes, it was OK. It was beautiful and breathtaking, safe and clean and the people were very nice and polite. I cannot lavish much more praise upon it, so I won't. You know, sometimes you just don't click in the places you'd expect to and maybe you normally would if you hadn't been to somewhere you consider more inspiring beforehand. Maybe the truth is that ten months of Latin America moulded me and acustomed me to something that was full of life, zest, soul and warmth; but also it took the wind out of me, physically and mentally, though it was all worth it. And New Zealand doesn't have that life, zest, soul and warmth. It has rugby, bungee ropes, sheep and clean streets. I met an English girl in Argentina and we talked at length about New Zealand, because she had been here previously... I now remember the one phrase that she used to describe it... ''It's all a bit Radio 2''. I can't argue with that, but I must say that I can see why so many people love it down here and I am thoroughly glad I came. But,
The moeriaki bouldersThe moeriaki bouldersThe moeriaki boulders

Hope I have spelt that correctly. Doubt it.
it ain't me babe. Oh yes, and she added that I would quickly become tired of the over-used words awesome, cool and sweet to describe everything. She was right on that one too.

I am now on the way home, with a few weeks stopover in Singapore, and probably Malaysia and Thailand, before finally getting back in late May. It's funny but I'm looking forward to getting back and seeing familiar and missed faces and voices. It's simply that I am tired of all this backpacking lifestyle for now (Though I can drag it out for a few weeks more, but somewhere a little more exotic!), the long buses, unfamiliar faces, playing let's make friends every five minutes with people who disappear just as quickly, sleeping in dormitories and sharing with big fat fellas who snore the house down or impolite pissheads who wake everyone up when they come back from drinking their shandies or overcrowded communal kitchens where there is not the room to make a sandwich or some ubergeek who reeks of BO asking if you want to play chess against him... The list is endless, I could go on but I won't.

And! Did
Moi.Moi.Moi.

That's 'me' in French. I think.
I mention that the van died on me? It collapsed one morning in a village the size of a cricket pitch. Blown head gasket and too expensive too repair, I crushed it and lost everything, close to 2000 NZ dollars all said. And that was just an extra nail in the coffin. God help Arne the German from Hamburg if I ever bump into his sorry little ass down a dark alley way, he's the one that sold me that piece of junk! And for what it's worth, he stank of BO aswell and revelled in telling me how he hadn't showered for 4 days whilst he had the van before me. Really? I would never have guessed, I thought to myself...

See you all soon,
Jamie


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Kaikoura.Kaikoura.
Kaikoura.

Across the lake.
The 'A' Team...The 'A' Team...
The 'A' Team...

James Dean? Mr.Bean more like.
Kaikoura.Kaikoura.
Kaikoura.

The rain coming across the bay.
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

Pissed down the whole day, can't say I was impressed too much.
Just after Milford SoundJust after Milford Sound
Just after Milford Sound

Still pissing down.


27th April 2006

alright or what
Whats happening son. Hows your tights? Got to pull my pants down to you mate, sounds and looks like you've had and are still having the time of your life. A bit like patrick swayze in dirty dancing! When do you come home, cause im right up for an evening with Jamie Borley, at 53 Ysgol Street (Leons new den). Well enjoy the rest of your world tour, bust loads of birds and i shall see you when i see you. Adios.
29th April 2006

Jesus, Pazzy, that's gutter talk...
Thanks for the message fella, it won't be long now before I am home and back on the mean and not-so-clean streets of the Eastside, rocking in the free world once more. Keep the faith... jamie
9th June 2006

come to my party
Hi, Gonzales... On 11th of June 2006 I am having a party in my house. I will be 40. Almost all gearlab will be here. If you are here come along.

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb