Time flies


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 26th 2006
Published: March 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

I received an email pointing out that I hadn't done an update since the 9th March. Ooops, sorry, my bad.

A quick update - 14 hours on a train from Sydney to Brisbane, I found a great little hotel right in the centre of town. A busy little city, I confess to judging most of my trip by the quality of the shopping - as everyone tells me it's my trip and I can shop if I want to. Decided the best option would be to fly to Cairns, honestly couldn't face anymore time on buses/trains!

Cairns has a public outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view of the bay, called the lagoon, and best of all it's free. The place has a very relaxed attitude, great restaurants and cane toad racing on a wednesday (don't ask!). Unfortunately I was still fighting a nasty cold, so I really didn't do it justice, as there are so many wonderful places to visit nearby. I left Cairns at just the right time, apparently, as cyclone Larry hit south of where I was staying the day after I left.

So, here I am in Auckland. It's coming up to winter here, and I'm freezing. Okay it's not that cold, but still my wardrobe caters to summer weather, yet another fantastic excuse to shop. Thankyou to Angie for sending me stuff - even in the middle of a housemove herself, matey you are an absolute superstar.

Most of you have heard me talk about Paul - he's been here a year already and just had his visa renewed for another year. We're dating now and I've never been happier. My visa runs out in 6 months, but, well, you never know what will happen . . . .

I plan on actually doing some touristy stuff this week, so will post more photos soon. I'm happy and safe, and will (try) to do more updates. Send me gossip!

Love to all

Anna
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb