Photos Are HERE!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Feb 5th - Feb 17th


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Ceremony in a Maori Meetinghall 33 secs
2: What I Jumped 27 secs
See that Tower?See that Tower?See that Tower?

I totally jumped off it today.
I'm on my last day in Auckland, last evening really. I'm waiting for my laundry to finish up in the dryer. Tomorrow we are off to New Plymouth. No one has been there before, so it's going to be new for everyone!

Today I jumped off a building. 630ft. No joke! Auckland's Sky Tower is the tallest building in the southern hemisphere. It's a few feet taller than the Eiffel Tower even. Of course, they won't let you jump from the very top, but it's still 630ft down. It was insane and nerve wrecking just hanging on before I let go.

Since I last wrote in, I have been to a number of places in Rotorua. I went to Waimangu; a valley created by the eruption of Mt. Tarawera in 1886. We hiked for 2 hours, looking at all the geological features. The Fryingpan lake was super hot and still had geyser activity. At the end of the trek, we hoped on a boat and saw where the famous Pink and White Terraces used to be. The eruption had completely destroyed them, sending them to the bottom of the lake.

The Buried Village we went to used to
First "Sculpture"First "Sculpture"First "Sculpture"

Done at Lake Taupo for class.
be near Mt. Tarawera, but was covered in mud and ash from the eruption. There was a gorgeous waterfall there.

We went to a local Sheep Show, where we saw 19 different breeds of sheep they have in New Zealand. Their dogs jump on the backs of the sheep to go through the herd, rather than circle around. One dog can handle a couple hundred sheep.

We went to a Maori Village recreation site, Te Puia. There were mud pools and geysers and a kiwi sanctuary. They are odd birds and I wish I could have taken photos.

Feb 13th was spent driving from Rotorua to Auckland with a stop in Hamilton to see a war canoe. The 14th and 15th were free days. Those days were fun. 😉 Yes, very fun. AND Interesting. Not posting it here tho. *cough*

Feb 16th & 17th were all about the Auckland National Museum. The place was very huge and we had lots of work to do here for our professors. The T-Rex named Sue was here, which I thought was funny since I'd already seen it in the states. After the museum on the 17th, we were left
Geothermal valleyGeothermal valleyGeothermal valley

It was really hot here.
to our own devices. I wandered by the Sky Tower, saw you could jump off it, and decided I was going to do it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Me & AlannaMe & Alanna
Me & Alanna

She was our rafting instructor
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

That's me in the second to last row. I sat sideways since I wasn't next to anyone.
Couldn't breatheCouldn't breathe
Couldn't breathe

They were turning us into this smaller waterfall for photos.
Rotorua MuseumRotorua Museum
Rotorua Museum

used to be a bathhouse
BathsBaths
Baths

These used to be used in the bathhouse
Te Puia GeyserTe Puia Geyser
Te Puia Geyser

There were these cool mud pools to the left, but aren't very interesting in a photo.
Bird of ParadiseBird of Paradise
Bird of Paradise

That plant is about 30 feet tall. It's in the Winter Garden in Auckland.
Mt. DoomMt. Doom
Mt. Doom

That's from Lord of the Rings! I hiked Mt. Ruapehu to get that shot. Too bad we didn't have time to go to the top. Another group was hiking around the base of Mt. Doom. Turangi


18th February 2009

OMG
I got dizzy watching the video of the tower - Girl, you are amazing! I love the photos - that Bird of Paradise is beautiful. Can't wait to hear more!!!! xxx K
18th February 2009

Damn!
It looks like you're having a lot of fun!! I can't believe you jumped off that building!! So cool. Well, I'll talk to you later. Hope to see you on skype some time soon.
20th February 2009

Puke!
OMG Mere! Your video made me want to puke, And it made me dizzy. You have more balls than I do, Mom
22nd February 2009

forrest says hi
Hi I'm playing my sims and some how a odd bowling alley has poped up next to mr. Dude's house! and he now owns a wierd space ship that he some how was able to buy by himself! right back soon

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb