1st Day in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Auckland airportAuckland airportAuckland airport

My journey begins!
Yesterday was my first day out of the country and I am having a blast! I just realized how much walking I will be doing on this trip. I met one of my bunk mates Kay and we went down to the Harbor and ate at a sushi bar. Then I wondered around again by myself. The hostel was offically better than almost any hotel I have stayed in for the price! Although I was told this is rare and not to set my expectations too high.

Last night I had free dinner at the hostel and played pool with 3 guys, 2 locals and a canadian. Afterwards I went on a walk with Dan (the canadian) to the harbor and then up to the sky tower. It reminds me a lot of the space needle in Seattle. It was right about sunset so we got to watch all the city lights come on as it got darker. Then we walked around downtown to see the night life. It was nice to meet someone really friendly the first day to make up for the horror stories everyone has been trying to fill my head with about the guys here.
AucklandAucklandAuckland

downtown

I had a great first night! Now I am getting ready to meet up with my tour group to travel throughout New Zealand for the next 10 days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Down by the harbor
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Harbor walkway
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Auckland Harbor Bridge
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

view of the Sky Tower
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Sky Tower
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Queens Street
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

A park downtown
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Decorations for the Chinese New Year
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

Chinese New Year
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

View From the Sky Tower
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

looking through the Sky Tower floor
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

The Auckland Harbor Bridge as it was just getting dark.
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

My friend Dan and I in the sky tower. I met him my first night in New Zealand at the Hostel.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb