New Zealand begins...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 20th 2005
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm very excited to be in New Zealand now - been dreaming about this for YEARS.
Mundane things to be sorted first - like buying a car in the next day or so, in order to get away over Christmas to somewhere remote and walk lots. I am keen to get away from cities. I guess it is a sign that I have let go a bit as I haven't planned any of this yet - not like the 'normal' me at all....'what if' doesn't seem to be quite such a regular phrase in my head, although I can't claim to have banished anxiety completely (maybe in another few weeks!).

Contingency is to hire one I guess and then buy when I'm back in Auckland again after spending some time with Mum and Dad on the North Island. Thinking out loud here, that might make some sense as I don't need it when I am with them anyway and I'd have to find somewhere to park it while I was away. Hmm, glad I started writing this - sometimes you just need to bounce things off someone even if 'they' are virtual and not speaking back to you at the time. Mum and Dad arrive next week and I have to admit that is more like Christmas than Christmas in terms of excitement levels at least. Very glad they are coming and looking forward to some belated celebrations of the case being over and all that stuff.

Well, tomorrow I will get to the Poste Restante where I know that Nic and Fiona have sent me something so I will have something to open on Christmas Day, and my friend Kate (Perth and Sydney) left me something too. All I need to add to the proceedings are some Christmas pudding and a mince pie and I will be sorted.

Will endeavour to catch up on photos soon. Sydney Harbour bridge climb one particularly fetching (not sure the grey suit suits me much mind you).
Anyway, time to get some dinner.
lots of love
Helen xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb