Parting Shots


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 29th 2005
Published: November 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our New Zealand Rout

A rough approximation of our trip. The 1400 miles seems right.

The Mark Of A True Lady Is Knowing When To Get Off Stage



I know, I know ... I said it was all over. But since our Auckland hotel has broadband access, I thought I'd post some pics from previous days that I didn't put on due to the slow dial up.

These are mostly silly things. We're on a plane in less than 24 hours, so we'll see ya soon!

Enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Carb & TrembleCarb & Tremble
Carb & Tremble

They follow us everywhere we go in the USA. It's only fitting they made the trip to New Zealand.
Champagne PoolChampagne Pool
Champagne Pool

Outside of Rotorua, a pool is tinged in orange due to mineral activity. Geothermal activity makes it have tiny bubbles like champagne.
Confidentially, It Stinks.Confidentially, It Stinks.
Confidentially, It Stinks.

It may look great in the photos, but honestly, it stinks. This is my mother and I's reaction.
Frodo & SamFrodo & Sam
Frodo & Sam

The thermal pools did give us one more chance to act out Lord of the Rings. Here's our version of Sam Ganges railing against the evil hurting Frodo.
No, Really.  It Stinks.No, Really.  It Stinks.
No, Really. It Stinks.

Another favorite of my mother and I.
Chicken Love.Chicken Love.
Chicken Love.

My mother stops to make peace with the local wildlife.
Black Is So SlimmingBlack Is So Slimming
Black Is So Slimming

The three of us before we went underground cave rafting. This was the happiest we looked for the next three hours.
Missing ChipDogMissing ChipDog
Missing ChipDog

This sausage of a dog was at our last hotel. Little did he know we missed our puppy. He was a very willing surrogate, however.
It's Super Loo!It's Super Loo!
It's Super Loo!

The public toilets are so common (take a hint, USA), that competition starts to take hold. While Americans would be happy that it was clean and civilized, this one reached Super Loo status by having showers.
Pat Fords A StreamPat Fords A Stream
Pat Fords A Stream

Pat likes to make appearances now and then. This was on the banks of a stream somewhere.
Finding Our Way BackFinding Our Way Back
Finding Our Way Back

Ever helpful, those Kiwis. Here's a typical small-town instersection. Eventually you get so many directions, you can't find anything.


27th November 2006

Call me a loser ... when you sent this blog out last year, it was right in the crux of madness. I got a chance to "live" your blog all at once this morning and look forward to reading all about your escapades in Maui. Thank you for sharing and remembering me. I miss you and wish you all the best!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb