Week 6 in New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not even a week has passed since my last blog, but I leave tomorrow for the kiwi experience so I thought I'd better update now as I don't know when my next chance will be. Unfortunately I currently have tonsilitus so I'm pumped up on antibiotics and pain killers to try and calm my HUGE tonsils which are choking me 😞! The doctor said that they were the largest ones she's ever seen, is that something to be proud of?! Daddy insisted I send him a photo of them, but I think I'll refrain from posting a picture of them up here! I'm leaving at 7.15am tomorrow, so I'm hoping the antibiotics will kick in fairly fast and not make the journey to the Bay of Islands miserable. I'm not sure how long I'll be up there for, I hear it's beautiful but as it's mainly made up of beaches the weather needs to be nice.

The weather for the past week has been awesome - lots of clear blue skies and hot sun. I climbed Mount Rangitoto which is Aucklands largest volcano, erupting 600 years ago. The climb was actually fairly challenging but it was a toally clear day
MeMeMe

Me at the top of Rangitoto
and the views from the top were spectacular, making it well worth it.

I've been really lucky to meet some lovely people whilst I've been here. I've always had something to do and have tried lots of new things. I gave sushi a go last week for the first time and it was yummy! Dale made it for me and his flat mates (I tried to help a little, but wasn't very useful 😱 ) and I was very impressed! In fact, I liked it so much that I took Adam and Fiona out for sushi on Sunday as a thank you meal. I had a night out on Saturday which was really fun. I was with a great crowd and they showed me an awesome time! 😊

I managed to bake a chocolate cake at the weekend which anyone who's aware of my culinary skills will appreciate is quite an achievement! I'm missing out on the March cake fest back home (Mummy, Nixy and Tom all have March birthdays), so it was nice to have a cake on their behalf...hehe!

I managed to get roped into milking a cow yesterday which was rather amusing. Tracey and
View from topView from topView from top

One of the views from the top of Rangitoto
me had taken the girls to the farm and the very friendly farmer thought it would be a great idea to get us to have a go. Can't say it was very exciting, but it was quite amusing. Lucy rather fancied having a go, whilst Alex ran a mile!

I hope that everyone's well and not suffering from the weather too badly. I'll update asap!

Hats xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Night outNight out
Night out

Me with Tara and Fiona
SushiSushi
Sushi

the sushi 'we' made!!


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb